We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place to which I will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey County, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to which I will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spacious room, considering the inn was built in 1891. It's a charming place. Wireless was not the fastest, but it did exist at no charge. There was even a TV. Very comfortable bed. Restaurant and bar downstairs had lots of options and I was able to find good choices in each. Make your reservations early, as there are only 12 rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monterey_BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    91
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
49
259
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Ferndale is a gem and the Victorian Inn makes it twice as nice. This grand lady has been beautifully restored in a town of many Victorian buildings. You get the best breakfast you will ever find anywhere as part of the deal in a beautiful dining room filled with natural light . The countryside is gorgeous to explore during the day and a fine meal in their dining room is a good way to end the day. Be sure to see the Carson Mansion in Eureka.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckytraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at the Victoria Inn. We stayed in Ann's Suite or rather apartment...it is that big. Flat screen TV, WiFi, a large living area, with plenty of space to have a party! The attention to the decoration of the suite in the elegant window treatments and plentiful towels. We also enjoyed the lumber jack breakfast each morning...great way to start the day! We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napafoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My youngest daughter and I stayed at the Victorian Inn while on an excursion to check out Humboldt University in nearby Arcata. I seldom get time off since I run my own business and I was hoping to have a relatively relaxing trip. I wasn't disappointed.
Ferndale is a precious town – meticulously kept and the people were all so very warm and friendly. The Inn itself was better than I had expected. I prefer staying at B&B’s while traveling since they tend to be cozier than modern trendy hotels (my taste). I love antiques and traditional architecture: the Inn kept my attention around every corner. It’s maintained spotlessly both inside and out.
Check in was a breeze; no fuss. The service was wonderful; no complaints. The owners were very cordial and informative since we had never been to the area before and provided us with details of the area to make our excursion effortless. Our old fashioned room was very spacious for two people and the bathroom was huge with plenty of hot running water and no maintenance problems.
The only thing that could pose a problem is for individuals with mobility issues. Most of the rooms are located upstairs and the only way up is by means of a beautiful, but very long, wide, & steep staircase. Had I been traveling with my elderly mother who has mobility issues, this would have been a definite problem. There is no elevator in the hotel, as was explained to me, due to their attempt to maintain the building in its originally built condition. I would suggest inquiring about lower level rooms if this is an issue for you or perhaps there is another alternative for getting up & down that was not made aware to me.
We ate at the restaurant several times and the food was absolutely delicious! My daughter ordered Mac ‘n Cheese at our first meal, which made me roll my eyes since I would have preferred her to be a bit more daring, especially since the restaurant is more gourmet than not , but I must confess that it was one of the best Mac ‘n Cheese dishes I have ever ate. I had the Portuguese Paella and it was outstanding. Great breakfasts’, by the way.
My eldest daughter has made me promise to take her to Ferndale and stay at the Victorian Inn this summer on our road trip to Oregon. I can’t wait!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommyofTwoGurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Victorian Inn was chosen because Ferndale was a good stopping point. The Victorian Inn was spectacularly historic with great attention to detail and restoration. The whole town is filled with great Victorian buildings. I found that Victorian is a bit too dark for me but appreciated the history. We (and our neighbors) did not have warm water at all and they could not fix within our 1 night stay. Their breakfast was substantial and very good. Staff was friendly but not welcoming. We left a leather coat behind and after 6 hours gone, we called to see if it had been turned in - not they said. So we bought another and had a message when we got home that they had the coat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mytiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaliforniaInnkeeper, Owner at Victorian Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
I think the writer of this review was very honest and sincere in his/her observations, and we thank him/her for that. As you can see, the review was very complimentary in almost all areas. Unfortunately, they did experience a loss of hot water, but it was repaired within 15 minutes. Our staff perhaps did not communicate this to them and for that we sincerely apologize. (It was simply a thermostat reset button that had popped off) They did leave the coat as stated, but our housekeeper who found it hung it up nicely because she didn't want to wrinkle it...instead of putting it in our usual Lost and Found box. When we were made aware of this we contacted the guest immediately and made arrangements to get it to them. Hopefully, having two coats will turn out to be a blessing in the long run. And we sure hope these guests read this and come on back to give us another opportunity to serve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed three nights at the Victorian Inn and all of the staff from the owners Lowell & Jenny to the bartender, waitresses and housekeeping went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Everyone made us feel most welcome. The décor is elegant and each room has its own character and attention to detail. Breakfast was plentiful and included in the room rate. The restaurant had a nice selection of well prepared and presented meals. Ferndale has some beautifully kept Victorian style buildings, but it is a shame to see that the economic climate has affected many businesses that are now up for sale.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brits at Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Very nice hotel and people. The town was very picturesque and sweet. We really enjoyed our stay the accommodation were nice and the large cow in front of our room was great. Very dog friendly town and hotel. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoptrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#2 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
0.1 mi away
Redwood Suites
Redwood Suites
#1 of 1 in Ferndale
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Property: Victorian Inn
Address: 400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California's northern redwood coast you'll discover the quaint Victorian Village of Ferndale and the elegant Victorian Inn. Built in 1890 of Humboldt County redwood, this luxurious northern California bed and breakfast combines romantic accommodations with modern amenities for the convenience of vacationers, tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing