We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gingerbread Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Full of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had an overnight stay in this amazing place on a west coast road trip. Only a short detour off US101. Great period building with steps up to bed! Very comfortable and a warm welcome, great breakfast. Complimentary tea and cakes in the afternoon was an especially nice greeting after a day travelling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foweymalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    31
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
140
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed here several times and absolutely love the Gingerbread Mansion. However, we made a made a poor choice of rooms this time--picked the "Hideaway Room" because it had a deck and a loft, but it was probably the least appealing room in the inn. It was also a teeny bit shabby--the wallpaper in the bathroom needs to be replaced, likewise the bathroom rug. But we peeked into some of the other vacant rooms and they all looked beautiful. They probably just haven't gotten around to re-furbishing that particular room. Having said all that, all the public rooms are stunning and the breakfast was excellent as always (stuffed French bread.) They put out wine and cheese in the afternoons, and we liked the wine so much we purchased a bottle to take home and followed their directions to the cheese factory in the next town to buy some of the cheese. Overall, the Gingerbread Mansion still gets my top rating, I was just a little bit disappointed in the room.

Room Tip: Unless you are traveling with a friend (who could make good use of the extra bed in the sleeping lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gingerbread Mansion in Ferndale. This was part of a trip to Humboldt State Park, and Ferndale is a little bit of a drive to Humboldt, but it is closer to the northern end of the park than Garberville, and the north end is where the giant tree grove, the Dyerville giant, and Bull Creek are located. Also, Ferndale is a nicer town than Scotia or Fortuna. So, we were happy with the choice, in spite of the driving. We stayed in the Fountain room and found the bed a little soft, but staff worked with us to fix that (which we greatly appreciated) and we slept well. The hotel is expertly renovated with great attention to details. The bathroom in the Fountain room was FANTASTIC (great shower, 2 tubs, and a gas fireplace and sitting area- WOW). There's a happy hour, too. DInner at the Victoria Inn is great and you can drive about 15 minutes to Centerville to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teague, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband surprised me with a night's stay at The GIngerbread Mansion on our recent trip to California. We stayed in the Empire Suite and it was EXTREMELY nice!!!!! We stayed in Lake Tahoe a night, Point Arena Lighthouse, and The Mark Hopkins Intercontinental in San Fran, along with Inn Above Tide in Sausalito and this place was hands down the BEST part of our week long vacation! The best part about this suite is the amazing shower!!! LOL And this suite is SO spacious..very large room. My one and only complaint was that at night while sleeping, the lights that stay on in the hallway shine right into your eyes bc the bed faces the doors..there are two sets of doors you must go through to get into the room, but still, the light shines right into your eyes all night!!!! Super easy fix would be to put some short drapes or something just over the windows. Other than that, fantastic stay, and wonderful staff...very friendly and accommodating! And breakfast was a plus as well..we were even able to eat "in room" in this particular suite-loved it!!!!!! We hope to one day be back to this area and stay here again :)

Room Tip: If you are looking for a spacious room, or a room that will impress-this is it!!!!! Very top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wyodak05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mansion for one night on our way down form Oregon and it was a sheer pleasure. When you enter the front door you step back in time to the Victorian age. The rooms are full of interest and we enjoyed afternoon tea in the parlour. Our room was huge as was the bathroom and they were both spotlessly clean. We ate at the Ivanhoe Inn on recommendation of Linda and really enjoyed our meal (ask for the Lite plates!) .

Breakfast next morning was a feast, the Eggs Benedict were very different and very tasty. Thank you Linda for your hard work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Someone has put a LOT of work into this jewel of a B&B. Instead of turning every nook and cranny into a "room", there are three downstairs sitting rooms suitable for relaxing or chatting with other guests. Until we left and went to another B&B along our trip, I don’t think we fully appreciated just how much attention to detail and maintenance is continuing to take place here on a daily basis. The floors DON’T creak and everything works.

Wine and hors d'oeuvres were served every afternoon and we had our choice of breakfast serving times. We could walk a block or so to the historic downtown that was loaded with good stores and entertainment and restaurants.

The ONLY negative about Gingerbread Mansion is that staff seemed a little distant at times. Kate was the exception, but she was only there in the afternoon. We didn’t meet the owners. We did find some erroneous information on the Internet about this property being for sale. I have confirmed that the Gingerbread Mansion is NOT for sale.

We've stayed at many B&B's; this is one of the BEST.

Room Tip: There are rooms on all three floors and the ceilings are about 12 feet high (i.e., lots of steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelloSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Such fun arriving at the Victorian Mansion after a long drive North. Really warm and comfy room, delightful fun interior. Complimentary afternoon tea with delicious Coppola wine, smoked salmon and gorgeous cakes was a real treat - and breakfast was yummy. Great beach nearby too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
16.7 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Redwood Suites
Redwood Suites
#1 of 1 in Ferndale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gingerbread Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gingerbread Mansion Inn

Property: The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Address: 400 Berding St., P.O. Box 1380, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gingerbread Mansion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gingerbread Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing