We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate Ferndale Experience”
Review of Hotel Ivanhoe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ferndale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ivanhoe
Ranked #4 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This painstakingly restored and delightful Historic venue is perfectly situated in the center of all the action in the Victorian Village of Ferndale. Dave and Barb, the proprietors, infinitely enhance the experience with genuine warmth and unpretentious hospitality. The location adjacent to the restaurants, inviting watering holes and quaint shops is ideal. There are many choices as to where to stay on and about Ferndale, after many trips over 3 decades, the Ivanhoe is the correct choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unpre10ous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We come to Ferndale every summer when our town is too hot. This time we choose the Ivanhoe and we loved it. Hubby was happy room had a TV. Lol. We stayed in the Roberts room nice hot bath in the claw foot tub we sat on balcony having beer at night doing some people watching and had our coffee out there I the morning I will for sure stay here again. Great place. Cannot even hear the bar restaurant downstairs which was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orrip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, once inside, the outside rather resembles a box, don't be put off. Inside it feels luxurious, dark wood and low lighting. The room we had felt like we'd travelled back to another century. It really encapsulated the view I have of old America. Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food was really good. For a Brit whose grown up with images taken from 60's and 70's cowboy films this place was great.

Room Tip: Don't be put off from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lapparsteche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wished we could have stayed a couple of days. It's a nice, comfortable 1 bedroom cottage atop a garage with a beautiful view from your own private deck. The owners were very pleasant and gave us suggestions as to where to have dinner in town. If you like privacy, and would like a change from staying in a hotel, this is the place for you. There is a tv if you need it, there's also wifi access.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcbworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Hotel Ivanhoe was the ideal place to rest my head in Humboldt County and a welcome respite from the chain hotels en route. I could have made this home for a week while exploring the many nearby attractions. Everyone was so charming and the restaurant was terrific. There are many great cafes and restaurants on Main Street and numerous sites of interest along your happy walking trails. I particularly loved strolling through the nearby hilltop cemetery for a truly unique look into the history of Ferndale. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSavvyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel is located in the time-warp town of Ferndale. It's lovely and Victorian and preserved from the 1890s. The hotel sits atop a bar and restaurant, both of which are pretty good and friendly. The two rooms we rented upstairs were filled with Victorian antiques that really evoked another era. Our bed was extremely uncomfortable, and there was no air conditioning. One would think this wouldn't be a problem for a coastal town where the temperature reached the low 60s by early evening, but our room did not cool to a comfortable temperature until 3 in the morning. The small fan, along with very small screens that propped the windows open about 8 inches just weren't a match for the high ceilinged room. It was a worthwhile experience nonetheless. No breakfast, though, and we went down the street to Papa Joe's, a local establishment where we waited for 45 minutes, and the clearly hung-over and very confused short-order cook had not even started cooking our breakfasts, despite a very small crowd. I am certain that others followed when we walked out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank themajortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferndale hotels
0 mi away
Redwood Suites
Redwood Suites
#1 of 1 in Ferndale
140 reviews
0 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ye Olde Danish Inn
#3 of 6 in Ferndale
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shaw House
Shaw House
#5 of 6 in Ferndale
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivanhoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivanhoe

Address: 315 Main Street, P.O. Box 458, Ferndale, CA 95536
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing