We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, friendly find in Ferndale”
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My girlfriend and I were looking for a base during our hiking holiday, and were so happy to have stumbled across Ye Olde Danish Inn. We stayed in one of the (detached) "carriage houses". How surprising! We had an enormous room in which to read, drink wine, and listen to music. Then there's the separate bedroom (with, however, a somewhat stiff and uncomfortable bed), and a great bathroom. Compared to a typical B&B, the place is enormous - plus it's not all lace doilies and "girlie"-themed, trying to make you think it's 1898 all over again! Note that this isn't a B&B, so there's no breakfast provided... but that's all the more reason to explore the options on Main Street. In summary, we weren't disappointed, and our hosts were extremely friendly. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Danish Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

we had a lovely stay and enjoyed chatting with our host ... vistas are wonderful and our suite was super ... five stars

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_maitre78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Our stay was exactly what we wanted: quiet, private and enjoyable. The owners of Ye Olde Danish Inn were very kind and easy going. The cottage was superbly clean and furnished with lots of great books. We were amazed with the old record collection in the downstairs game room. The owner has a terrific collection of juke boxes, posters of the Beatles and an old piano! There's also a pool table. The Victorian town was fun to explore. Just a few feet away from the cottage is the gateway to Petrolia and the Lost Coast. The meandering road riddled with a few potholes are well worth the drive (about 1hr). The scenic drive is breathtaking. For a shorter drive, about 15 minutes down Ocean Ave, is a beautiful, romantic beach. We ate at the Victorian Inn restaurant and Ivanhoe; both were great. I personally enjoyed my pasta plate at the Victorian Inn - they're bread was homemade and scrumptious. You can find more restaurants in Fortuna, which is about 10 minutes away. We had lunch at Oriental Buffet in fortuna. Atmosphere was nice and food great! Large selection of Chinese food to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destination2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Ye Olde Danish Inn is a great little getaway within a minutes walk of the beautiful Victorian Town of Ferndale. The Cophenhagen house was very quiet and clean and felt like a home away from home while spending a week in Ferndale. It is within a hours drive of the lost cost, a must see for anyone visiting the area. Uffe and Kuniko are very gracious hosts and I look forward to staying at the Ye Olde Danish Inn again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Old Danish Inn in Ferndale, Ca, hosts Uffe and Kuniko Christiansen, a friendly and charming couple. The cottage (we stayed in the Copenhagen suite) was amply spacious, spotlessly clean and serene beyond expectations. The location, as Uffe puts it, is the best in all Ferndale, and I whole heartedly agree. The 10 acre estate is perched atop a wooded ridge looking down upon the quaint Victorian village. If you are looking for a truly unique get away on the North Coast in peaceful and beautiful surroundings, I highly recommend Ye Old Danish Inn. It is one of our favorite California getaways to date. Thanks Uffe and Kuniko for creating this little piece of paradise. Steve & Maria

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdkcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We were booking this trip last minute and found that Ye Olde Danish Inn had just opened and no one knew about it quite yet. Lucky Us! It is set on the hill on the edge of town so you get a great view of Victorian Ferndale, but can easily walk to all the shops. The service was great - anticipating our needs and making it easy for us to stay with our little one. We felt very welcomed and that is exactly what we needed as we considered Ferndale as a potential new home for our family. We fell in love with Ferndale and when we extended our stay at Ye Olde Danish Inn, it was easy to do so.

We will always be fond of the Inn as it was the place we stayed when we found our dream home and decided to make the leap.

The room was immaculate. The beds comfortable and even the pull out gave us a good night sleep. The night sounds and the stars form the balcony are sigh inducing and the air is clean. While it may not have all the Victorian decor of the wonderful B and B's in town it is tastefully decorated and a god selection of books and games are at hand.

Thanks for your help getting us acquainted with Ferndale!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreiHedstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank WeisesWeib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
6.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#2 of 6 in Ferndale
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536-9450
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range: $133 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing