We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Spacious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and Spacious.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a wonderful overnight experience at the Ye Olde Danish Inn. Very spacious apartment and comfortable. The owner was excellent and was waiting for us even though we arrived late. An excellent stay.
Only downside, it would have been nice to have breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westport, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We are relatively locals, two hours away in Mendocino County, but we make a couple of trips a year to visit the bay and marshes of the area. This was our first stay at this Inn, and we liked it very much. We prize privacy and quiet much more than swimming pools and business center, so this worked out fine for us. Being able to step out on the balcony with our binoculars to track some raptors enhances the whole experience.

Room Tip: only two second floor cabins as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank falcon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beautiful setting just up hill from Ferndale town centre packed with historic buildings. Easy walk to shops & great Curlys restaurant, recommended by hosts. (Very good food and very busy mid-week.) Lots of space in the Aalborg Suite. Space for dining, relaxing on sofa, window seat, and deck to watch the deer on the lawns morning and evening. Was the sort of place to easily stay a week and use as a base. Interesting books and shelves of holiday reads too. Bed comfy & place very quiet at night. Uffe shared interesting historical information about the Danish settlers in the area. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Copenhagen Suite and it was the best stay we've had in all our years of traveling. The property overlooks Ferndale and the valley and the peace and quiet was amazing. We have never stayed at such a unique and peaceful Inn - anytime in the future we are anywhere near Ferndale we will plan some time here. Uffe and Kuniko are wonderful hosts. This morning when we left we sat on our deck as Monday morning was birthed in the valley and it was a perfect start to the day.

Room Tip: The Copenhagen Suite is our experience and it is at the north end of the property. A great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerbear51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were traveling from 28th April till 2nd May 2014, from Portlend to Las Vegas (we are three friends from Russia, 26-29 years older). Every day we stayed in different hotels and motels. And this one was really the best place we stayed. When I search for remembers in my head it appears the first from all. I don't now why, but it is the first. May be because it is very lovely, sweet and cosy flat (it is really like appartments - there as all you need - kitchen, bath, drawing-room, bedroom). May be because of very nice owners, who are very hospitable, may be because of home-decor and atmosphere (there is fireplace, the shelves with books, vases with dried flowers, curtains and coverings with lovely patterns), may be the silence and little deer who met our vehicle on the road and showe the hotel, which is hidden on the hill. So I can recommend it all people, who like quiet cosy rest. It was really great experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolinaAmaLebedeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This review is based solely on a one night stay in which I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of service from the owners! We booked a couple weeks ahead as we were picking up a friend in California and needed a place to stay close to the redwoods. We had planned on arriving around 5, but like any road trip ended up way behind schedule. We called to inform the owners we might not arrive until after 10. We ended up not arriving until almost midnight, and to our surprise the owners had stayed up and the male owner happily showed us around the room and made sure we were comfortable. He even went as far as to honor a request we had that I'm sure many places wouldn't have. It really made our night and we couldn't have appreciated it more! I would explain more, but wouldn't want others to then request the same. Thank you to the lovely owners of Ye Olde Danish Inn! You made our stay a very pleasant one!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik24046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed at Ye Olde Danish Inn several times and each experience has been more than satisfactory. The two rooms, which are in separate buildings from the main house and each other are wonderfully quiet, spacious, and at the same time, cozy. They are well equiped and comfortable with microwave, frig and coffee makerand a dinette table in each so that light meal preparation is possible. They are convenient to the town of Ferndale with its many shops and historic buildings as well as close to the Redwoods and the beach and about 20 minutes fro Eureka.and an hour to Benbow. The settings is lovely on a hill overlooking the town and is set away from other houses on it own ten acres of woods, garden and grass.The owners are friendly and accomodating without being intrusive. I would highly recommend. One accessibility caution, both rooms are accessed by a full flight of outdoor steps.

Room Tip: Pictures on Web site are representative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racameron613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Property: Ye Olde Danish Inn
Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536-9450
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing