We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Thank you Ye Olde Danish Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Ye Olde Danish Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This review is based solely on a one night stay in which I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of service from the owners! We booked a couple weeks ahead as we were picking up a friend in California and needed a place to stay close to the redwoods. We had planned on arriving around 5, but like any road trip ended up way behind schedule. We called to inform the owners we might not arrive until after 10. We ended up not arriving until almost midnight, and to our surprise the owners had stayed up and the male owner happily showed us around the room and made sure we were comfortable. He even went as far as to honor a request we had that I'm sure many places wouldn't have. It really made our night and we couldn't have appreciated it more! I would explain more, but wouldn't want others to then request the same. Thank you to the lovely owners of Ye Olde Danish Inn! You made our stay a very pleasant one!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik24046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Depoe Bay, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed at Ye Olde Danish Inn several times and each experience has been more than satisfactory. The two rooms, which are in separate buildings from the main house and each other are wonderfully quiet, spacious, and at the same time, cozy. They are well equiped and comfortable with microwave, frig and coffee makerand a dinette table in each so that light meal preparation is possible. They are convenient to the town of Ferndale with its many shops and historic buildings as well as close to the Redwoods and the beach and about 20 minutes fro Eureka.and an hour to Benbow. The settings is lovely on a hill overlooking the town and is set away from other houses on it own ten acres of woods, garden and grass.The owners are friendly and accomodating without being intrusive. I would highly recommend. One accessibility caution, both rooms are accessed by a full flight of outdoor steps.

Room Tip: Pictures on Web site are representative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racameron613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I arrived during the first rainstorm of the year. We stayed in the large suite over the garage. In June 2011, another TripAdvisor rater posted photos of the suite. Looks very much the same.

We arrived early, and were allowed to check in, which was greatly appreciated! The host and hostess were pleasant, gracious, and non-obstrusive. This was a one night stay; spent little time in the room (touring Ferndale, College of the Redwoods, Eureka, Arcata).

The 4-star rating is based on the peace and quiet, which is very important to us. The suite was clean, quiet, warm, and cozy. We are average sized people and slept cozily in the double/full bed with the low slant ceiling. No problem. We purchased breakfast foods from the local market in Ferndale upon our return for the evening, enjoying our breakfast in the beautiful setting.

The television reception was mediocre to poor; we did not ask the owners for assistance as it was late evening, and were too tired to ask for assistance. We are recommending Ye Olde Danish Inn to our family members as an alternative to staying in Eureka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TapdancerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brush prairie WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while exploring the surrounding environs, including Avenue of the Giants. We booked the Copenhagen suite which we found to be comfortable, cozy and very private. Felt like we were off in our own corner of the world. The suite has a private balcony overlooking the beautiful valley. Only a short walk into town for meals. The hosts were very accommodating but left us to our own devices.

We accidentally left our credit card at a downtown restaurant, and since we were due to leave the next day, were resigned to leaving it behind. Our gracious hosts tracked the card down and returned it to us by insured mail.

At night, snuggled under the comforter, the only audible noise you'll hear is a frog croaking...the only visible light from the moon and stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our third visit here and we always choose the Copenhagen suite, it seems we love this place more each time we stay. Our friends joined us this time and they stayed in the Aalborg suite which they also loved. We enjoyed the peacefulness and views of Ferndale from the balcony off the bedroom, my husband was so inspired he even painted some water colors of the surroundings. We visit Ferndale every year so we could say now that this is our "home away from home." Again, thanks to the owners of this magnificent place, Uffe and Kuniko for running a great get away.

Room Tip: There are only two suites, but we always stay in the Copenhagen suite, seems a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This gem sits halfway on the hill adjacent to beautiful Ferndale (a 4 minute walk).The rooms are large and very well equipped. The bed is good and the view over town & bay is awesome. The owners are kind and very helpful. During our stay they succeeded in powering up the wi-fi to a good connection providing fast online access. It is very, very quiet here up the hill.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jj3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodega Bay, CA, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Inn was great, comfortable. Lot's of space and views of downtown Ferndale. Hosts were pleasant and provided good information in the room of activities in the area. I had the rooms over the garage - living room with dining area, bedroom, bath and patio overlooking Ferndale.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaystodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#2 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Redwood Suites
Redwood Suites
#1 of 1 in Ferndale
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Property: Ye Olde Danish Inn
Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536-9450
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing