We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore Ferndale,the Redwoods, and the North California Coast”
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed at Ye Olde Danish Inn several times and each experience has been more than satisfactory. The two rooms, which are in separate buildings from the main house and each other are wonderfully quiet, spacious, and at the same time, cozy. They are well equiped and comfortable with microwave, frig and coffee makerand a dinette table in each so that light meal preparation is possible. They are convenient to the town of Ferndale with its many shops and historic buildings as well as close to the Redwoods and the beach and about 20 minutes fro Eureka.and an hour to Benbow. The settings is lovely on a hill overlooking the town and is set away from other houses on it own ten acres of woods, garden and grass.The owners are friendly and accomodating without being intrusive. I would highly recommend. One accessibility caution, both rooms are accessed by a full flight of outdoor steps.

Room Tip: Pictures on Web site are representative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racameron613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I arrived during the first rainstorm of the year. We stayed in the large suite over the garage. In June 2011, another TripAdvisor rater posted photos of the suite. Looks very much the same.

We arrived early, and were allowed to check in, which was greatly appreciated! The host and hostess were pleasant, gracious, and non-obstrusive. This was a one night stay; spent little time in the room (touring Ferndale, College of the Redwoods, Eureka, Arcata).

The 4-star rating is based on the peace and quiet, which is very important to us. The suite was clean, quiet, warm, and cozy. We are average sized people and slept cozily in the double/full bed with the low slant ceiling. No problem. We purchased breakfast foods from the local market in Ferndale upon our return for the evening, enjoying our breakfast in the beautiful setting.

The television reception was mediocre to poor; we did not ask the owners for assistance as it was late evening, and were too tired to ask for assistance. We are recommending Ye Olde Danish Inn to our family members as an alternative to staying in Eureka.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TapdancerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while exploring the surrounding environs, including Avenue of the Giants. We booked the Copenhagen suite which we found to be comfortable, cozy and very private. Felt like we were off in our own corner of the world. The suite has a private balcony overlooking the beautiful valley. Only a short walk into town for meals. The hosts were very accommodating but left us to our own devices.

We accidentally left our credit card at a downtown restaurant, and since we were due to leave the next day, were resigned to leaving it behind. Our gracious hosts tracked the card down and returned it to us by insured mail.

At night, snuggled under the comforter, the only audible noise you'll hear is a frog croaking...the only visible light from the moon and stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our third visit here and we always choose the Copenhagen suite, it seems we love this place more each time we stay. Our friends joined us this time and they stayed in the Aalborg suite which they also loved. We enjoyed the peacefulness and views of Ferndale from the balcony off the bedroom, my husband was so inspired he even painted some water colors of the surroundings. We visit Ferndale every year so we could say now that this is our "home away from home." Again, thanks to the owners of this magnificent place, Uffe and Kuniko for running a great get away.

Room Tip: There are only two suites, but we always stay in the Copenhagen suite, seems a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This gem sits halfway on the hill adjacent to beautiful Ferndale (a 4 minute walk).The rooms are large and very well equipped. The bed is good and the view over town & bay is awesome. The owners are kind and very helpful. During our stay they succeeded in powering up the wi-fi to a good connection providing fast online access. It is very, very quiet here up the hill.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jj3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Inn was great, comfortable. Lot's of space and views of downtown Ferndale. Hosts were pleasant and provided good information in the room of activities in the area. I had the rooms over the garage - living room with dining area, bedroom, bath and patio overlooking Ferndale.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaystodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived late. The host and hostess waited up for us and helped us find the property. The cottage was very nice with a great view. We were able to view the night sky. It was quiet and beautiful. Very close to the several beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickieGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
6.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536-9450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range: $132 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing