We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good the second time around.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good the second time around.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just spent 4 days at this wonderful serene, quiet inn. We loved it even more this year, maybe because we had some sunny days where we could use the deck. We stayed again in the Copenhagen suite which is the larger of the two suites, however, I got to view the Aalborg suite and that one is also spacious. If you want peace and quiet, walking distance to the town, and all the amenities, stay here. We were here for the county fair which is walking distance from the inn. A big thanks to the owners, Uffe and Kuniko on a great job they've done with this property.

Room Tip: We had the Copenhagen suite which seems a bit bigger with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redding.CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Thanks to a last minute cancellation by someone, we were able to escape the heat of Redding and spend two delightful days in cool Humboldt County. Our suite at the Old Danish Inn was clean and comfortable. The hosts were congenial and non-intrusive. We enjoyed the beaches, jetty and marsh trails. The wildlife highlight was a sighting of three dolphins porpoising along the south jetty. Dinner at the Ivanhoe is recommended, with more locals than tourists. All in all, a great spontaneous getaway from the heat of the Sacramento Valley.

Room Tip: Dinner at the Ivanhoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gldnstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My Family of 3 stayed there for 1 night. I wished we could have stayed longer! Owners were great friendly people. The room had a great view of town and was very cozy after driving all day. They had board games and a TV so we could play and catch up on the Olympics. Great space. Planning on staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amber h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a gem. Ferndale was a highlight and the inn was fantastic. Not only were the owners gracious, but the room had everything to make our stay memorable. Although the furnishings are dated, it didn't seem to matter. Have dinner at the Ivanhoe and you will see what the locals are like. What a nice find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed here with my Fiance because his dad grew up in the little town of Ferndale and I must say it was not what you'd expect. It is a second living space built above the garage (separate building) with its own bathroom/shower and private balcony that has the most amazing view overlooking the adorable town. We were able to feel completely isolated, you'd never know the owners (lovely quiet couple) were there at all. Its less than a half hour to the beach and less than 5 mins from grocery, food, bar, and any outdoors activity you can dream of! Its been nearly 6 months since we stayed here but we are still planning to go back next chance we get... If you are looking for comfort/cozy/privacy but hate how tiny hotel rooms can be then this is the place for you! because places and towns are more spread out in this part of california and we have family that live in other towns near by were able to have them over with all the extra space instead of a hotel room. Unique and far more relaxing than that living out of suitcase feel you get from a hotel, I will return to this place time and time again. not to mention that the price is less than any surrounding lodging, for the accommodations and view combined you just cant beat it! Please support local/small business and take a chance on this one of a kind gem!

Room Tip: Anything you need is just a few feet away, no calling room service, its more like going to ask your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for one night at Ye Olde Danish Inn, located on a hill above the town of Ferndale, California. It was very clean, cozy and had all the amenities that we needed. It felt as if we were staying at the home of someone we knew. I enjoyed having coffee on the deck overlooking the bucolic scene of the little town and the dairy farms. The owners are friendly, helpful and not intrusive. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We recently overnighted in the Copenhagen suite and were very pleased with the accommodations. The suite was well-equipped with all the comforts: good lighting, heating, satellite TV, and kitchen amenities. Overall, a very cozy yet spacious suite. The view from the balcony (where we ate breakfast) was fantastic; you could see for miles. Moreover, the inn is nestled against a forested hill so it is very private and I was amazed at how fresh and woody and clean the air smelled! The inn's owners, Uffe and Kuniko Christiansen, were very friendly and helpful, and did everything to make our stay a pleasant one. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Redwood Suites
Redwood Suites
#1 of 1 in Ferndale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Property: Ye Olde Danish Inn
Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536-9450
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing