We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Escape”
Review of Ye Olde Danish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Danish Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed here with my Fiance because his dad grew up in the little town of Ferndale and I must say it was not what you'd expect. It is a second living space built above the garage (separate building) with its own bathroom/shower and private balcony that has the most amazing view overlooking the adorable town. We were able to feel completely isolated, you'd never know the owners (lovely quiet couple) were there at all. Its less than a half hour to the beach and less than 5 mins from grocery, food, bar, and any outdoors activity you can dream of! Its been nearly 6 months since we stayed here but we are still planning to go back next chance we get... If you are looking for comfort/cozy/privacy but hate how tiny hotel rooms can be then this is the place for you! because places and towns are more spread out in this part of california and we have family that live in other towns near by were able to have them over with all the extra space instead of a hotel room. Unique and far more relaxing than that living out of suitcase feel you get from a hotel, I will return to this place time and time again. not to mention that the price is less than any surrounding lodging, for the accommodations and view combined you just cant beat it! Please support local/small business and take a chance on this one of a kind gem!

Room Tip: Anything you need is just a few feet away, no calling room service, its more like going to ask your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for one night at Ye Olde Danish Inn, located on a hill above the town of Ferndale, California. It was very clean, cozy and had all the amenities that we needed. It felt as if we were staying at the home of someone we knew. I enjoyed having coffee on the deck overlooking the bucolic scene of the little town and the dairy farms. The owners are friendly, helpful and not intrusive. We would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We recently overnighted in the Copenhagen suite and were very pleased with the accommodations. The suite was well-equipped with all the comforts: good lighting, heating, satellite TV, and kitchen amenities. Overall, a very cozy yet spacious suite. The view from the balcony (where we ate breakfast) was fantastic; you could see for miles. Moreover, the inn is nestled against a forested hill so it is very private and I was amazed at how fresh and woody and clean the air smelled! The inn's owners, Uffe and Kuniko Christiansen, were very friendly and helpful, and did everything to make our stay a pleasant one. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Ye Olde Danish Inn was a pleasant place to stay. We stayed in the Alborg suite. It was clean and comfortable with all the comforts of home. The hosts were very helpful. We checked in very late and they could not have been nicer. It is within walking distance of the town, quiet, and a picturesque place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful Inn this past weekend. What a lovely host. It is on a hill above Ferndale and offers gorgeous picturesque views of the town. The Alborg Suite was private comfortable and extremely clean. We came from Redding where it was 100 plus degrees and the air in Ferndale was cool and refreshing through our well ventalated suite. We had our own private deck that overlooked the properties green tree ridden view. The house and the two suites are lovely structures that look like it just came from a dutch country scene or a scene in a disney movie.
It was great to stay at a place with a little fridge and micro so we could save money on food too. Stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tessmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We chose this inn while visiting the Humboldt County Fair and it was certainly a great choice. We stayed in the Copenhagen Suite which was a good size two room apartment with a deck off the bedroom overlooking the town of Ferndale. The suite had a frig, microwave, coffee maker and a nice sitting area for morning coffee. The property sits above Ferndale on a quiet hill but within walking distance to the restaurants, town and fairgrounds. My husband wanted to add that he loved the privacy, seclusion and outstanding views surrounding this inn. Thank you Uffee and Kuniko for making out stay very memorable. Olivia and Steve

Room Tip: The Copenhagen Suite is the larger of the two suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olivia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

A lovely, quiet, and peaceful place to stay. The owners are really nice and made us feel very welcome. We had a great time!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
6.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#2 of 21 in Eureka
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Danish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Danish Inn

Address: 132 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536-9450
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range: $133 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Olde Danish Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Danish Inn has become a national and international beacon for adventurous travelers to relax in privacy and complete comfort. On the 10 acres private estate overlooking the Victorian Village of Ferndale, the Inn offers seclusion and plenty of room to breathe, while within proximity to the wonderful recreational opportunities for which the Redwood Coast is famous: redwood forests (nature’s cathedrals), secluded beaches, pristine nature preserves and lot of wildlife. As an added bonus a town that invites you to step back in time. We are located only a 4 to 5 hour scenic drive (Highway 101) north of San Francisco, CA and about 3 miles in from the Pacific ocean. We offer two very comfortable and very private suites, each with its own private balcony, overlooking beautiful views of the Victorian Village of Ferndale and the Eel River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde Danish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing