We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic house but a bit of a let down”
Review of Shaw House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shaw House
Ranked #4 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely historic house but a bit of a let down”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

There are a lot of things to recommend this Inn - it's a beautiful Victorian building - elaborately decorated, in a nice town. There are real fireplaces in the main building with inviting living-rooms lined with books and games and DVDs for your room. The house has a lot of history, and there is information about it available in the living room. There is tea and coffee available, and a complimentary continental buffet breakfast including great scones, and there is complimentary wine and cheese in the evening. We also found the owner to be pretty friendly.
We were travelling with a baby and a dog. The inn has pet-friendly rooms, which is a great plus - however our room, which was separate from the main building wasn't that great. The heater was broken and it got very cold in the night. To be fair, the owner had warned us that the heating had been recently repaired and offered us a space-heater in case it didn't work for us - which we stupidly didn't take her up on - by 3am when we all woke up (including our baby) and were huddling in our bed listening to the rain it didn't seem like such a great place to stay.
Other than the heater, the room was ok but not great. The bathroom was nice, with an old claw-foot tub, but the sink drain needed clearing. The bedroom itself had nice stained glass and a skylight, and would probably be very pretty on a*warm summer's day. Overall it felt like a disappointment - we wanted to like this place and it had lots of potential but it was quite expensive and didn't seem worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pablissimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is a beautiful, well-preserved Victorian. The only drawback is that the hostess was not very accommodating, and we really felt as if we were a bit of a bother.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 836shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is the most beautiful place to stay for any reason.The rooms are beautiful, the old victorian parlors make you just want ot curl up on the chairs and read, and or relax. The garden outside is breathtaking. The hostess is bery friendly, who makes the most delicious and incredible breakfasts. You stay at the Shaw House Bed and Breakfast you will not want to leave, but when you do you will feel well rested and pampered. I highly recommend the Shaw House. You will be amayzed by the home that was built so long ago, all the detail and craftdmenship that went into this home is incrediable.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szaugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

READ THE POLICY CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU PURCHASE A NIGHT FROM HER. SHE CHARGES HEAVILY AND DOES NOT ALLOW ANY ROOM FOR GUEST MANEUVER. We were greeted by a rather unfriendly hostess. Wouldn't it make sense to have sugar free and plain tea amongst the tea box lined walls? Apparently it was an insult to suggest such a thing. Breakfast was burnt. For the amount of money that was charged you would think that a perfectly cooked, sugar free breakfast of let's say bacon, eggs & toast would have been more appropriate than burnt pancakes with only sugary syrup or jelly to hide the burnt taste. If you have special dietary needs let Paula know. When it comes to the breakfast part of the bed & breakfast, her high paying guests are NOT her first priority.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tangosierra44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was our second visit to Ferndale, which is one of the most intriguing small towns I've ever visited. In many ways, with the heavy emphasis on its Victorian appearance, being in this town is like stepping back in time without anyone being all that obvious about the Victorian decor that predominates. In keeping with the general appearance of Ferndale, the Shaw House is an older Victorian home that as a B&B is well recognized for its excellence (an inn keeper we met in Oregon had nothing but praise for it, for example). It actually was recommended to us by the owners of the Gingerbread Mansion Inn, another wonderful Ferndale B&B which seems to be in difficulty at the moment. As for the Shaw House, I've never been in a B&B with so many parlors, and comfortable ones at that. Additionally, it has beautiful outdoor spaces that pretty much hide the surrounding neighborhood, although it is but a short walk into town. Our room (the Garden Room) was comfortable and well appointed, and could be entered either from the house or a nice patio leading to the garden. From the wine service and home made oatmeal cakes that greeted us on arrival, to the sumptuous breakfast provided the next morning, this was a classic B&B experience and one we will treasure. I only wish we had been able to stay longer, but we were on a trek down the Pacific coast to San Francisco and so could only stay one night. On our prior stay in Ferndale, we took advantage of the scenic coastal loop drive and the nearby redwood forests, so if you plan a trip there, go with that in mind.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I'm not normally a fan of B&Bs as I find the whole victorian theme too fussy for my taste but there is not a whole lot of choice in the Ferndale area and this seemd like one of the best. You expect some odd layout in an old house and we didn't mind the bath-tub in the room but the bathroom was so tiny and the sink in a really odd position. The other guests weren't noisy but sound carried in the house and we found it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

En route to the Victorian Inn, the lush gardens and gorgeous architecture of the Shaw House turned our heads. At 10.15PM that same night, I am sitting in the parlour (generously available to guests) beside the marble fireplace Shaw's fiancée selected at Gump's, San Francisco, in the 19th century.
The beautiful parlour allows me to relax and read while my husband snoozes in our cosy room upstairs.
We arrived in Ferndale at 2.30PM; although check-in is not until 4PM, our innkeeper graciously offered us immediate accommodation at no extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetsomniferum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
16.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw House

Property: Shaw House
Address: 703 Main Street, Ferndale, CA 95536
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Shaw House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing