We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
43
20
10
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
20
10
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies victorian driveway california heating lodging coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 87 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2018

Large house with extensive grounds makes for a comfortable stay. Warmly greeted with refreshments available through the day and evening. It is an old building and shows some wear. The conversions are more of a "make do" than a rehabilitation. If you are looking for wifi, you may have to move around the house to find it. The breakfast buffet was quite good and we very much enjoyed sharing with our fellow travelers.

Room tip: There are several rooms on the main floor if stairs are an issue.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We love Ferndale and had stayed at a different B&B there a couple of years ago. We could only stay one night this time and had our small dog with us. We chose the Shaw House, because they had a pet-friendly room available, for which we were very grateful. The set up for it was really nice- right off an enclosed deck that also accessed the dining room. That was handy when we needed to take our dog out and she loved running to explore the huge yard.

A huge Victorian like that has to be difficult to maintain and they do a good job of it. As lodging operators ourselves, we know what goes into that! The parts we saw were very clean. The bed and room temperature were comfy. We had to chuckle a little a the way they signaled things were off limits with tape crisscrossed over knobs and other things. It would be nice to have some empty space to set our things down, hang a towel next to the sink, etc.

Breakfast was good, but not spectacular. Delicious juice and coffee (high priority for us). The chorizo scramble was good; It just wasn’t what we were looking for in Northern California. Something less Southwestern, more regional or Victorian would have been preferred.

Although it was pretty expensive, we would stay there again if traveling with our dog. If not, we may choose the place we stayed on our prior visit; It’s a little more money, but we felt absolutely spoiled there.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank EedWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Drive up the driveway and you feel welcomed.. The Shaw House is Clean and Warm. The sitting rooms and library are great gathering places for guests. Tea, coffee and cookies in the Dinning room during the day. Their Breakfast is very very good. It is a two story so, you will need to make sure that you request a ground floor room if you can not walk up stairs. Some of the rooms have their own bathrooms and a couple share bathrooms. The grounds are nice to walk in or better yet, enjoy a cup of coffee, tea or a cocktail. Make a reservation and have a very nice stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Marjean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Driving down the coast with no room, we stumbled into Fernwood and found this absolute gem. Oldest Victorian house in Fernwood and absolutely gorgeously appointed B and B. Rooms are incredibly comfortably— bed and luxury sheets made for a terrific nights sleep. Breakfast was Zagat quality. We are so lucky to have found this place..

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank donns305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

we had informed the owner that we would arrive late and she stated she would leave the keys for us due to the late hour which we understood. The next day we never met the owner, she never greeted us, we were served breakfast by her employees. We finally saw her in the house, she did not introduce herself and never welcomed us. She was very curt and unwelcoming. Also we stayed in the back area, which was dark and had very little light. The location was good but my husband and I would not recommend this B and B as a place to stay, we felt very uncomfortable

Room tip: I would say probably upstairs.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Prsston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews