We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing & Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaw House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw House
Ranked #4 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Willits, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing & Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My friend & I visited in early June, by a less than friendly owner who seemed that any questions or suggestions we had (such as a fire in the freezing main rooms) utterly beneath her & out of the question.
I spent the whole 2 days in the house in a heavy sweater & coat.
Rooms were just OK, & overpriced. The remote for my VCR was in the owner's quarters & when I asked for it she snarled to her daughter, "Oh, give it to her."
Couldn't find the turn-off switch for the elec. fireplace, so had to crawl under a desk to un-plug it from the wall before retiring. And on & on.
To top it all off, I had forgotten some small items & upon return home phoned Paula to ask her to please send them to me. Without asking my preference, she said, "Oh, I'll charge the postage to your card." Then proceded to send them in 2 priority mail packages, to the tune of another $32.00 on my credit card.
I enjoyed the grounds & the coffee, but did not feel welcomed at all. This was the worst experience I've ever had at a B&B, & I've stayed at a lot of them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Shaw House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
While we are disappointed that this is our guests memory of her stay, it doesn't match ours in any way. We have no snarly people employed here, and these ladies were treated with the utmost courtesy and compassion actually. Being quite elderly, they repeatedly had trouble with simple operations. We were glad to help and were concerned that dementia was part of the problems one of them is dealing with. We regret their unhappiness but lack of courtesy and attention from us were not part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

I started to flee the Shaw House when we found the parking to be strange and the less than friendly young woman greeted us with "Do you have a reservation?" Just like a hotel. She then led us to a very small room and to a desk - just like in a hotel! First order of business: get that credit card out buddy. Wow, unfriendly desk clerk and a check in desk- two reasons I do not stay in hotels anymore. After a cursory tour (with details mumbled and a conversation with her stupid dog), we were led to our room. We learned at this morning's serve yourself breakfast (which was quite good) that other rooms in this old house are apparently much nicer than ours, the Isabella Room, which is worth $75.00. We paid a hundred dollars more. Way too much. If you decide to stay here remember it is dog and kid friendly and you will not be treated as 99% of B&Bs would treat you. Notice also the signs warning you that the sirens you may hear (at 3 am!) is for the nearby volunteer fire department. Do not stay in the Isabella Room.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Franki44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were here for two days on our anniversary trip and just loved it, the Bookside room had most comfortable bed EVER, a fun and pretty room with a vaulted 16" perhaps ceiling and a clerestory window, and rather than the ordeal of the B&B breakfast the host keeps you well supplied with Coffee, tea, sodas, wine and snacks. Lots of genuine old things few modern items and just the best grounds, easy walk to all of Ferndale, on the main street but far enough back from the street to sleep in peace and quite. I would return happily.

Room Tip: the house is far back from the street so there is no noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineSoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt_CaDonation, Owner at Shaw House, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were enchanted by this lovely Victorian Inn and felt at home the minute we arrived. We appreciated the owners quiet efficiency, wine and cheese appeared in the afternoon as if by magic, as did wood for the fire in the library. Wonderful little touches everywhere, soft music, candles, books, movies, newspapers, and many different kinds of tea to choose from. We also appreciated the varied healthy choices for breakfast, the beautiful park like grounds, and having our own entrance and private deck. Our room was large, spotless, and decorated with loving care to detail. The Shaw House is within easy walking distance to lots of wonderful little shops and restaurants, don't miss the any of them! We also took a walk through the cemetery, which was one block off main street. It was a trip though the history of the town, and a very unique experience. We were so happy with our stay we added a day, and if our we could have possibly arranged it we would have stayed longer. We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAL611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Negative: No real breakfast to speak of. Mainly cereal, yogurt & piece of fruit (mostly from costco). Property starting to show clear signs of deferred maintenance. Not authentically restored victorian. On main street of town which can get noisy at times if you are at front of house. Owner brusk, straight business, period. Overpriced.
Positive: Wine in afternoon, nice grounds, mostly quiet if back of house, in Ferndale. Real Fireplace in main room. Mostly clean.
Summary: Would not stay again as the breakfast, which I REALLY look forward to is seriously lacking. Ferndale is a cute but VERY small town. You could see it in a couple of hours. Question if you really must stay here and if so contact chamber for alternatives (fortuna?). Poor value for the money. stayed 4-12

Room Tip: on opposite side from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 00justthefacts00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My daughters and I were the only guests at this quaint b & b when we stayed. So, we had the run of the place. We enjoyed the variety of teas in front of the fireplace in the family room. My girls played games while I read there.

We stayed in the Garden Room with queen and twin beds. We had a small balcony and a detached bath with a wonderful claw foot tub. There were bath oils and bubbles for use during our stay. That was a nice touch.

The breakfast quiche and fruit was delicious.

We enjoyed Ferndale as best we could on a Sunday to Monday stay with many businesses being closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Loved staying here for a romantic and restful getaway! Beautiful victorian house and beautiful room. Had our own deck and enjoyed the extensive and lovely gardens. Would be a fabulous place for an intimate wedding. Loved the buffet breakfast! The blueberry scones were fantastic! So many places serve eggy breakfasts which we don't care for so this was great! Yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, and scones! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
16.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw House

Property: Shaw House
Address: 703 Main Street, Ferndale, CA 95536
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Shaw House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing