We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always look forward to our get aways in Ferndale !!”
Review of Redwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redwood Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
Napa, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We always look forward to our get aways in Ferndale !!”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We have been visiting Ferndale for many years & enjoy very much staying
At the "Redwood Suites." The rooms are comfortable, very clean and nice size.
The VI Restaurant is a wonderful place to eat and just across the street. It feels
almost like being at home away from home. Jenny & Lowell, really go out of their
way to make you feel very welcome. Look forward to our next trip to Ferndale

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napa-CAJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
67
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Due to weather conditions we arrived late. The restaurant was kept open to accommodate us. From the very first phone call to make reservations through the time of departure we were treated like royalty. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sisters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We have been staying here for years and it is always a pleasant experience. The staff members are friendly and professional and the accomodations are always clean, comfortable, quiet, and cozy. The location is such that you can walk to the many fine dining and shopping establishments in Ferndale.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmbcountryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I arrived late tired and hungry and the staffs was pleasant, knowledgeable, and the hotels restaurant provided a great meal with a free glass of wine. The suite was clean, large, and warm. The suites are located next to the historic street. A winner all around.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Stayed in a 2 room second level suite - spacious, clean and comfy. Kitchen is just that, a KITCHEN, not a tiny kitchenette. But oddly enough, there were NO pots or pans! Full stove and no way to cook on it - rather strange. Plates, glasses, silverware all present, but no bottle opener, either. Definitely need to do a better job of stocking the kitchen.

To give you an idea, these 2 rooms have a dining table, 4 chairs, love seat (wish it had been a couch) nice smallish TV, good heat, bay window, comfy bed, full dresser, closet, small but very clean and modern bathroom and fast reliable Internet.

Very nice stay, outstanding service, very pleased, and will stay again if we get back to Ferndale.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregon123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Went to visit the Redwoods and needed a place to stay with a 4 and 2 yr old. These suites were just what we needed! Comfy beds, kitchen, dining table plus a trundle bed for the little ones! Sweet little town and the restaurant was perfect! Couldn't have asked for anything better!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2009

A great anniversary weekend.
The suites are very comfortable for two.
Similar to a small apartment, the bath is a little tight, and note
the water heater in the closet, it is good for ONE long shower, or two shorts.
(water got a little chilly after the first one took an average shower)

A few nice touches to be taken in would be a couple of chocolates (a tad pricey locally, but worth the taste let me tell you!), a couple of bottles of water would be nice if they were supplied in the fridge. And lastly, a bag of microwave popcorn. That wouldn't be too much to ask of the hotel. The staff at the Victorian were very courteous, and upon warning us of the potential volunteer fire dept siren, it didn't go off at all while
we were there.

Breakfast at Poppa Joes was GREAT, they open early, and you'll notice the
"regulars" all congregated at the end of the bar. I bet those guys can tell some
stories too! Dinner at Ivanhoes (Italian) was awesome and the service was
exemplary. (we didn't have reservations, but would suggest making them just
in case, they were pretty busy for a Sunday night) The food was yummy, and
the vinagrette dressing, very good. The Chicken Marsala was wonderful, but ladies, order the small order or you will get a full breast of chicken (too much food)

Lentz department store (same owners over 20 yrs) is the spot if you are looking
for victorian lace pieces (heritage lace) and she'll even order and ship to you.

And lastly, Curley's bar and grill will be done the end of September we hear. They
have upped his rent and he'll have to find a new place. Sad. He's been there 14 yrs we hear. We hope the Victorian Inn will let him stay. We didn't get the chance
to go over there, but heard the story about how long he's been there.

Enjoy! And be sure to drive out Centerville Rd to the beach! :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
6.0 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#2 of 6 in Ferndale
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shaw House
Shaw House
#4 of 6 in Ferndale
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Suites

Property: Redwood Suites
Address: 332 Ocean Avenue, P O Box 1436, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For lodging near the Redwoods State Park, Redwood Suites is your accommodation of choice.L ocated in the heart of the Historic Victorian Village of Ferndale, CA, Redwood Suites is awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel Ferndale
Redwood Motel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing