We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway!”
Review of Redwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redwood Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family getaway!”
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I can't begin to tell you how much my family appreciated the great care we were given during our stay at Redwood Suites.
I was traveling with my two rambunctious grandsons and we were treated like royalty by the innkeepers and their staff.

Very comfortable room with kitchen----great for a long stay if you want to cook breakfast in your room or snacks in the afternoon, especially if traveling with kids. My grandsons had a ball at the local beach and got totally drenched and dirty. Much to my great surprise when we returned to the Suites, Jenny, one of the owners saw my boys and insisted on having their clothes laundered for us!

We will be back! So much more than expected and Ferndale is a delight. Lots to do for the boys in the out-of-doors and Kinetic Musem was a hoot!

Kemmie Paul, Desert Hot Springs, CA

  • Liked — Location--you can walk all over the town
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertRatCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
69
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wine country california
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2008

All the descriptions of Ferndale are exaggerated. Nothing to do there, very far from the Redwoods, and we were lied to on the phone about the accomodations.
We won't be back or go near the place.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dancer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictorianVillager, Owner at Redwood Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2008
This review and the one preceding it were written by members of the same party, so we are responding to them both with virtually the same information. As hard as we try, we sometimes fall short in pleasing everyone. We are very sorry that our victorian village and our inn did not suite them, but perhaps I should explain just a little of the circumstances.

First, we do not always require a two day minimum stay...only on selected Fridays or Saturdays during high season! Their reservations were for a Thursday and Friday during such a period, as was clearly explained on their confirmation letter, which they agreed they had received.

Secondly, we cannot accomodate pets, which is also clearly explained in the letter, and these folks showed up with a 70 pound black lab. The only thing we can think of to cause this problem is for them to have confused us with some other inn they had contacted, because in our 10 year history as innkeepers, we have never been able to allow pets to stay with us.

Thirdly, the Avenue of the Giants, featuring the worlds most famous and largest Redwoods, is approx. 15 minutes away.

It's unfortunate, but obvious, that these two couples, which were traveling together, ignored the published policies of our inn and now have gotten together to demean us and our wonderful town rather than take responsibility themselves. We hope they can re-consider and return sometime, without their pet, and give us another chance to host them. They really seemed to be nice people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2008

The property was clean but very dated. They are NOT pet friendly.
The owner requires a two-night stay. Would not repeat my visit.

  • Liked — The leanliness.
  • Disliked — The minimum two night stay requirement, no pets allowed and the location.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictorianVillager, Owner at Redwood Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2008
This review and the one following it were written by members of the same party, so we are responding to them both with virtually the same information. As hard as we try, we sometimes fall short in pleasing everyone. We are very sorry that our victorian village and our inn did not suite them, but perhaps I should explain just a little of the circumstances.

First, we do not always require a two day minimum stay...only on selected Fridays or Saturdays during high season! Their reservations were for a Thursday and Friday during such a period, as was clearly explained on their confirmation letter, which they agreed they had received.

Secondly, we cannot accomodate pets, which is also clearly explained in the letter, and these folks showed up with a 70 pound black lab. The only thing we can think of to cause this problem is for them to have confused us with some other inn they had contacted, because in our 10 year history as innkeepers, we have never been able to allow pets to stay with us.

Thirdly, the Avenue of the Giants, featuring the worlds most famous and largest Redwoods, is approx. 15 minutes away.

It's unfortunate, but obvious, that these two couples, which were traveling together, ignored the published policies of our inn and now have gotten together to demean us and our wonderful town rather than take responsibility themselves. We hope they can re-consider and return sometime, without their pet, and give us another chance to host them. They really seemed to be nice people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Terrific place to stay, very clean and comfortable and really appreciated the provision of the little extras to make the stay more enjoyable. Nice to see owners taking the trouble to anticipate their guests' needs.

  • Liked — Spacious and well provisioned
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Blagdon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

This is an annual event that started two years ago with just 2 couples and has now grown into 6 couples. Each year we meet to plan our trip from the Sacramento area to the Redwood Suites. What makes this fun for us is we each drive our Street Rods, we pick a different route each year and have a whale of a time getting to Ferndale. Once we arrive we pick a partiular site to see each day, this is not hard to do with so many options available in the area. The folks in Ferndale are special people they all stop to say hi, comment on our cars and always have a story to share. The Redwood Suites is special to as they take very good care of our needs, the rooms are the cleanest of any hotel, motel we have ever stayed in and very reasonsably priced. They even wash my dishes! The event is a highlight for us as we spend quality time with our very special friends, laughing, singing and playing in the beautiful Redwoods of California. Thank you Redwood Suites for making our stays Fantastic!

  • Liked — quiet adult ,clean
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FerndaleFunRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
6.0 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
0.1 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#2 of 6 in Ferndale
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shaw House
Shaw House
#4 of 6 in Ferndale
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Suites

Property: Redwood Suites
Address: 332 Ocean Avenue, P O Box 1436, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For lodging near the Redwoods State Park, Redwood Suites is your accommodation of choice.L ocated in the heart of the Historic Victorian Village of Ferndale, CA, Redwood Suites is awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel Ferndale
Redwood Motel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing