We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Spring FRESH Spring Rolls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chopstix

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chopstix
Ranked #16 of 19 Restaurants in Felton
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Spring FRESH Spring Rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The fresh spring rolls are delicious (MAYBE...a little too much lettuce) but the combo of ingredients they put in the rolls is excellent. Hot and sour soup is hearty. The egg foo young is wonderful here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeneT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Felton, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“we do regular pho”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

my wife does raw beef pho and fresh spring rolls as far as i know the only place around that offers these - and she is satisfied w. extra basil and bean sprouts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lidarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This place has gone down hill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

OK, so Chopstix has GREAT hot & sour soup, but I’m thinking that this is the only item I’ll get from them from now on. Read on.
Items that I’ve ordered that are marked as “spicy” simply have siracha sauce tossed on them, leaving the flavor overly spicy, yet bland while hot. Not the best method to create chinese heat.

I used to thoroughly enjoy their dim sum green onion pancakes, as they had lots of flaky layers of yummy dough, deep fried to a golden brown. Then, the pancakes started being served over-cooked. I mentioned this on the phone for a to-go order recently and the person on the phone said, “no problem, we have a new chef.” Well, yeah, the pancakes were no longer over-cooked, but it appears that the new recipe skimps GREATLY on the true process to make these correctly, like they used to be. I make these at home, and there is a process that creates the many flaky layers. Now, the many flaky layers are GONE, and it’s as it they stuck two layers of dough together and deep fried them. Bad move.

Another thing I regularly enjoyed was the tomato-beef chow mein. They use good and plump chow-mein noodles, but the item was always sketchy in its availability; to the point that I always had to call first to make sure that they had tomatoes that night (which wasn’t often). When they did have tomatoes, they were fresh cut tomatoes. Last week, I ordered it and they were out of tomatoes. I even said, “there’s a health food store right across the road (like 300 feet away) and a supermarket a ¼ mile away...how can you not have tomatoes?” The next week, I ordered it and they did have tomatoes. However, when I got it home, the few chunks in the chow-mein were horrible CANNED tomatoes that really detracted from the dish. It was not good. If I had eaten in, I probably would have thrown the dish at the cooks (note: NOT chefs).

Stick with the hot and sour soup here and you’ll be fine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smudge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The food here is consistently good. It's average in price. Friendly service. Take out is better than dine in. They have a ginger chicken that is out of this world.

Worth a try if you are in the area.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

During a visit out to Santa Cruz, my girlfriend and I stopped in to grab a quick bite. The server was super friendly and attentive and the food was authentic and AMAZING! I'm really bummed I still cant find a place like this where I live. If I lived near Felton, this would definitely be a go-to place when I was in the mood for Chinese.

If I'm every through there again, I'm going to be sure to stop by!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyatt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopstix also viewed

 

Been to Chopstix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing