We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redwoods Vacation June 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Cruz Redwoods RV Resort
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed a six night stay at Santa Cruz Redwoods RV Resort in June 2013. We called ahead of time and requested a site, that did not have alot of traffic. We were assigned site #45. We were more than pleased to have a HUGE pull in site. We were in the back of the back of the campground and surrounded by redwood trees. Our kids enjoyed playing in old redwood tree stumps. We were a close walk to the stream and paved path in the Henry Cowell State Park. While at the campground we enjoyed the pancake breakfast, club house, showers and laundry facilities. The cost for each load of laundry was less than many other campgrounds. The camp mangers were very sweet. We had some car trouble and multiple times offered to help us or give us a ride. We rented a fire pit, for $5 for the entire week. The fire pit and wood was delivered to our site. We met so many nice and friendly "regulars". We REALLY enjoyed our stay. We are a family with four small children and a dog.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outbackcampers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

The place was more than we expected we love the location the staff was very nice greeting us in to the park helped me park my fifth wheel in our spot, we stayed there three nights and we loved it, however if your site does not have a fire pit make sure you ask for one, we pay a fine of 200 dollars for having a fire not in the approved fire pit by the office, Do not brake their rules or the staff will nearly take your head off a mistake can be made by anybody and although a mistake was made he did not have to be that rude.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertselene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two days exploring Santa Cruz while staying tucked up in the redwoods in a quiet RV resort. The staff were nice and helpful and bathrooms clean and updated with showers. Ask for spot 25 above the river. Kids will like to play in the old redwood stumps that resemble volcanoes and are the size of our eurovan.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank WoodyDominical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights and had a great experience. The park is located in the Redwoods forest and a river runs right behind the park. It is fun to just hike around the park and down to the river. It is an easy drive to many State Parks and Santa Cruz. The place is kept very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here over the New Year's weekend. I have camped on New Year's Eve before and some parks can get a bit out of control. This place was great. They had festivities in the clubhouse but managed to keep the rest of the park fairly quiet. I was impressed that they could allow those that want to party to have fun while the folks who want quiet got it also.

My first impression of the managment is very good. We had never been here before and they had mistakenly booked us into a site that was just too small for our 34" motorhome. Before we got checked in they had given us a new site that was very nice. The river sites are just lovely but there are many other very nice sites. This campground is very clean and we would recomend it to anyone, from families to older couples like us.

One word of caution do not use the route 9 from Santa Cruz unless you are driving a very small rig.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotoWeAreNotInKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We only stayed here one night in a 32ft RV with slide outs, on our way travelling down the pacific coast highway (Highway 1). It was our first stop & when we booked in the lady who greeted us sent someone to our plot to help us plug in electric & water as we had not done this before - wonderfully helpful.

Our plot was right besides the river, you pay a little more for this but it's well worth it. The redwoods are glorious & you get a sense of peace & quiet instantly. The toilets & showers were clean & plenty of hot water, but I did use them in the morning just after cleaning is done.

Small shop selling essentials & you are able to hire a fire pit for the evenings too. We booked well in advance online & had no problems at all. Do look at the advice on their website about driving RV's to the site! We didn't & took the road that Google maps told us to - big mistake - very narrow & not suitable for a larger RV! Just read their advice.

All in all a lovely RV stay even though it was only one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staveley-Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We recently visited Santa Cruz Redwoods RV Resort and absolutely loved it! The property is filled with beautiful, towering Redwood Trees. Some of the RV spots are a little tight, so be sure to let them know when making a reservation the actual size of your RV. When we arrived and open the door of the motorhome to check-in, we could smell the crisp, fresh air with the smell of campfires mixed in. The folks running the place are wonderful -- very friendly and accommodating. They will even park your RV for you if you aren't comfortable squeezing between some of the giant redwoods. The place seemed to always be full -- as soon as someone left, someone else was coming in, so I would make reservations early, especially during the summer months. However, although it was always at full capacity, it was still very quiet and peaceful. The Henry Cowell State Park is nearby with an abundance of hiking trails, a visitor center, and the Railroad. The drive to Santa Cruz is about 10 minutes and there are many things to do while in SC. There is the boardwalk area with rides, games, miniature golf, etc. The Wharf has restaurants, shops and sea lions below, and the downtown area has an abundance of shops, restaurants, movie theater, etc. We did find a couple good eateries in Felton -- The Heavenly Cafe for breakfast and a Pizza Joint (don't remember the name) not too far up the road from the campground. Ask the people in the office at the campground and they can direct you. So, not one complaint about this place -- and we are looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Not a hotel, but an RV Resort -- I believe sites are more or less assigned depending upon size of ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desiree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Cruz Redwoods RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Redwoods RV Resort

Address: 4980 Highway 9, Felton, CA 95018-9625
Location: United States > California > Felton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Felton
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing