We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Walk to trails on national forest. 4x4 offroading, ohv, fishing, boating, paddle boarding. Lodge is on the lake northshore. Market , post office and chef owned cafe close...not as populated as Big Bear south side. LOve it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firerock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I loved this place, it was clean, comfortable and nice and cozy. I had cabin # 5 it was a good size, the kitchen was a little small but ok for a short vacation. The owners were really nice people, the location is perfect. My kids loved it here, they enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: Cabin #5 is the bigger then the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I chose Quail Cove because it had all the qualities I was looking for in a cabin in the mountains: clean, on the lake, reasonably priced, fireplace, kitchen, allowed pets, and away from too much traffic. We were pleasantly surprised with where we stayed; Cabin #5 :) I've been coming up to Big Bear for over 25 years, and this was the best trip I had ever had (in November 2011). The weather was in our favor with a sunny 2 first days, then fresh powder the last 2 days. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking necessities (plates, pans, bowls, etc) and we even made a birthday cake, and snow ice cream. The cabin was very clean and didn't seem too dated at all, which was really nice. I didn't hear any car noise outside while sleeping, and my 2 kids (age 2 & 3) felt right at home. They LOVED staying here and didn't get hurt or bored at all. Trails are a short drive away, and the market is less than 10 minutes away. The proprietor was really nice, informative, and helpful. We brought our dog and her crate, and it was so easy to walk her by the lake outside the cabin. It was flat and mostly open with not too many trees = safe.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MommyDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The log cabins are charming. My sister stayed in cabin 2 and we stayed in cabin 3. AlThough the cabins are very small, they are clean and well-appointed. Don't plan on making big meals here because the kitchens are more like kitchenettes. The carpet, sofa, linens, sinks, and baths are newer. Cabin 2 offers a lovely view of the lake. Grace is an accomodating, gracious hostess.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohana143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Just got back from Quail Cove Lodge for 2 nights and couldn't be happier. Managers were more than friendly. Any questions or problems were answered and solved promptly. The location is unbeatable. Beautiful lake view is just 10 steps away. You can actually see the lake and snow peaks right out of your bedroom window. Cute water birds swimming around in the river at the back of our cabin. The whole cabin is very clean and tastfully decorated. The heater was so quiet that we had to put our hands on the vent to tell it was on or not. We have been to Big Bear Lake 5 times fro the past 2 years and each time we stayed in one of the top 10, if not top 5, cabins at Tripadvisor. So far, this one is our favorite. I don't know where else can i find a nice lakeview cabin with such an affordable rate in Big Bear Lake's winter high season.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcadialady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Caifornia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

These cabins right on the lake were a great find for our winter snow adventure!!! We planned this trip with 2 other families and it was perfect to be able to get together for meals and activities and then have our own space for quiet time. We had planned on cooking all of our meals and were happy to have a stocked kitchen available. My only complaint was that the "stocked" kitchen wasn't as stocked as I would expect. (this is the reason for my 4 stars, otherwise it would have been 5) They provide the BASICS, so be prepared to bring anything you will for sure need to cook and couldn't do without. Our kitchen didn't have a cutting board or a spatula for flipping pancakes. My sister's cabin didn't have a measuring cup. The nice thing is that the owners live on-site and they were able to loan us what we needed. You'll need to bring your own paper towels, napkins, foil, plastic wrap, etc. If you forget anything there is a small market in town just a short walk up the road. The cabins look and feel as though they were just updated and improved. The cabin had lots of new features and was VERY CLEAN. The owners seem like they really care and had Christmas decorations in the cabin and a bowl of candy canes on the coffee table for the kids, what a nice touch. If you come in winter, there is an awesome sledding hill within walking distance from the cabin right behind the Post Office. Our kids also enjoyed feeding the ducks in the stream right behind the cabin. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Cabin #5 is the largest cabin and our family of 4 was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pommerenkmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

i love this place and i cannot wait to come back. the rooms are very very clean. the stone fireplace really makes it cozy. the managers were amazing. they sell firewood for $4.00 very close to snow valley (the very small mountain) like 10-15 minutes away. the resturants were so good in fawskin. i like it better than big bear city which has so many people. this is truely a hidden gem. i went with my mom and little sister and had the best time. so much so i booked the same cabin for our return trip a month later.

Room Tip: there is only 6 cabins. anyone is good. we had #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fawnskin
2.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Fawnskin
The Inn at Fawnskin
#1 of 2 in Fawnskin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge

Property: Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge
Address: 39117 N Shore Dr, Fawnskin, CA 92333-0400
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Fawnskin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fawnskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully remodeled cabins on the north side of Big Bear Lake, in a quiet wooded area on the waters edge. All cabins have fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, full bathrooms, free internet, BBQS and are pet friendly. We are located on the north shore of Big Bear Lake, just a short 10 minute drive to the ski resorts and downtown. Close by is the Discovery Center and several hiking trails and some great fishing spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Cove Lakeside Hotel Fawnskin
Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge Fawnskin, CA - Big Bear Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing