We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great breakfasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Shore Cafe

North Shore Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Fawnskin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Scratch restaurant well known for freshly prepared food with quality ingredients. Indoor and outside patio seating. Menus are available on the restaurant website.
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you're staying in Fawnskin, north side of the lake, this is the place to have breakfast. Good food; good service; good value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
619 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“FOOD AND SERVICE ARE HIT AND MISS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I live in the Big Bear Valley and we had been to the North Shore Cafe a few years back (and were not that impressed). We decided to give it another try recently and have some mixed thoughts about the place. As we walked up the front door, there was a couple sitting outside and we heard the husband complaining about his hamburger. The hamburger patty had barely been browned on the outside and it was completely raw otherwise. The waitress that came out to address his complaint (which coincidentally ended up being our waitress) argued with the guy for at least 10 minutes stating that the burger was cooked the way he ordered it and that she would not take it back to be cooked more. (What happened to the customer always being right?) When we ordered our meal the same waitress was rude, abrupt, and dismissive. While trying to decide what to order I asked if they had something like french fries or onion rings and she stated, "No, we don't do fried foods here" in a very nasty tone. Additionally, my wife asked for a straw for her drink and the waitress walked away and immediately went outside and got in her car, driving away. My wife ordered the rueben sandwich with soup and she stated that the sandwich was one of the best she had ever had. I ordered the chinese chicken salad which was so-so. The chef made up a "teriyaki sauce" for the dressing which did not complement the meal at all and he used a cut up navel orange instead of mandarin oranges. The navel orange had no taste to speak of and it greatly detracted from the salad overall. We both ordered iced tea which tasted like it was instant tea and it had that cheap flavor. We complained about the service to another server who apologized however, no manager or anyone else who overheard our complaints seemed to care whether we enjoyed our meal or not. Based on the above, I cannot give this location a rating higher than "Average". You may or may not get a very good meal if you patronize this location however, even though I live in the area I will never ever come to this restaurant again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northshorecafe, Owner at North Shore Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your uncomfortable experience and dissatisfaction with the Chinese chicken salad. We will investigate the service issues you described. The menu clearly states that fresh oranges, not Mandarin oranges, are served with the Chinese chicken salad, however. We hope you will reconsider and return to our establishment in the future. Chef Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California, United States
1 review
“THE REAL DEAL... AMAZING EATS, SOULFUL SPOT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We moved up to Big Bear about a year ago and we come here almost every Sunday. The food is so delicious and the restaurant is so soulful. We love the atmosphere. Whether its a bustling busy Sunday breakfast or a quiet vibey evening this spot has unreal food. However if you like good coffee there is only the standard bottomless cup of diner coffee here w basic cream and sugar. I just go with it though as it seems that if this place offered anything more it would take away for the old school soul of the place.
Lots of favorites are found on the menu as well as some amazing creative dishes that can only be found at the North Shore Cafe. And as a bonus... if you have kids, there is a sweet little park right across the street. So we usually put our order in and take the kids over there to play while our food is being prepared. Makes happy campers of us all :) Definitely eat here, you will not regret it

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninjabearmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great breakfasts and lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Love the omelets. My husband says the burgers are the best he has had in many years. It is an eclectic menu and made from scratch, so the wait is worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank homfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This tavern is conveniently located on the lake shore in Fawnskin. The service very good and the staff is very friendly. This cozy place has delicious food, great atmosphere and live music. It is a great place to go for Happy Hour with friends. See you again soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore Cafe also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to North Shore Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing