We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serrano Campgrounds
Nearby Hotels
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay(Big Bear Lake)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grey Squirrel Resort(Big Bear Region)
$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Bear Cottages Resort(Big Bear Region)(Great Value!)
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bear Frontier(Big Bear Lake)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Resort(Big Bear Region)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robinhood Resort(Big Bear Lake)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Pines Lodge(Big Bear Region)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Hollow Lodge(Big Bear Region)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
32
24
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat campgrounddiscovery centerflush toiletsfree showershook upsclean airtall pinesdry campbig beartoilet paperhot waterlooppedalrestroomsprosconslake
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 58 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here with our two small toddler age children in July, we have never been up here before and I found an open weekend so I grabbed it. We were in site #6 which is a bit close to the site next to us but our neighbors were a super curious large family. The site was large with plenty of room to play and lots of shade as well. The bathrooms and showers were clean and plenty of hot water.

There are lots of toddler friendly walking paths and if you are up for a longer walk you can go to the lake and walk around it. We brought food for cooking but could have easily just driven to big bear village and eaten out or gone to the stater brothers or other grocery store. It is like being out camping but close enough to hop to Starbucks or CVS if you need to with a short 5 minute drive. I took the kids to big bear village one afternoon and to breakfast at IHOP so that my husband could pack up everything without 2 toddlers in the way.

It was actually a really great camping getaway for an easy weekend with lots of wonderful outdoor activities. It was our first time but I definitely plan to go back and put this on the regular camping schedule. The campsite looked like it had tons of other wonderful sites as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lacampingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Just got back from camping at the Serrano Campground in Big Bear. We stayed at site 31. It was ok but it had no shade. The sites right acroos from us and above us had a ton of shade. I think they were sites 17,29 and 30. Campground is nice with a couple choices to throw the tent at each site. The ground is a very soft dirt so be prepared to get dirty. There is a store within walking distance to buy firewood and drinks!! We bought two packs of wood each night, could have used more. There are clean bathrooms with showers, no soap though. A Vons and a Starbucks is about 5 minutes from the campground. Is it really camping is you go to a Starbucks??. There really isn't a beach anywhere to hang out at. The Discovery Center is within walking distance but didn't really have anything to do there, more for information than anything. We made the short trip to Lake Arrowhead. It seemed to take forever to get there. Once there we walked around a really cool village. The lake is a private lake so once again no beaches to lounge around on. Serrano is a nice quite place. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SurfCityLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We make reservartions here almost every summer. This is a beautiful campground. It has huge pine trees throughout the camground which provide a lot of shade. You can walk across a small road down to the lake. You can swim in the lake -- the bottom is muddy so I suggest wearing water shoes, but it's not algae ridden and gross. A lot of people use the lake daily for water sports and swimming throughout Big Bear. There is a really nice paved walking/bike trail that goes around the lake with beautiful views and places you can stop and picnic. The campground is very clean and well-maintained. I've never had a problem with partiers puking all night??? It is across the street from the wilderness center and a short driveacross the lake to the Moonridge Zoo and the Alpine Slide area which are really fun things to do if you have kids. I would recommend this campground to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank RealisticTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We took our Airstream here on its maiden voyage. Great campground. It snowed, easy to get to town in 10 minutes time. In March it was not crowded at all.

Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank Airstream28IntlCCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The mountain scenery is beautiful - clean air and fresh water.

Pros:
Easy to find
Across the street from the Discovery Center
Near the Ranger Station
Across the street from the lake (I saw several people swimming, but the water was more muddy and full of water plants-algae on steroids?)
BATHROOM & Separate SHOWER STALLS

Cons:
Too many little kids, especially during the weekends
Adults partying into the night, then crying and puking during the wee hours of the morning! Seriously, it did happen and it was a grown man doing the pitiful wailing and vomiting!


If you go, book early using www.recreation.gov, especially if you want to go during peak season. Also, bring bikes, fishing poles, lounge chairs, and a good book. Check out the Discovery Center's programs. We went to a presentation on stars and actually got to see Saturn and a globular (M-57?) of stars, which is about 10,000 suns near one another -- now how cool is that!
There's a little town down the road with stores and diners, so if you really need anything you can break the camp mode and cruise the town, but . . . Also, rather than paying $5 for a bundle of firewood, look out for the cart on the side of the road that charges $3, but it uses the honor system (you leave the $ in a locked container) so if you do not possess honor, please use the market with a live person to give your money to.

8  Thank datwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews