We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A long time Gem”
Review of Pala Mesa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pala Mesa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A long time Gem”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been going to this resort for over 30 years. It is in a lovely spot, a warm and cozy environment. Lovely well maintained golf course that is always fun to play. Rooms are large and comfortable. Maybe not as "modern" as some may like but clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Andrew N.,
I am so glad that you have had such a wonderful, and continuous, experience with us over the years. I am pleased that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and golf course. As you mentioned, we may not be as modern as some like, but we pride ourselves on our rustic feel. We hope that you will continue to visit us in years to come and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    79
    61
    38
    42
See reviews for
88
113
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed with a friend during memorial day weekend for wine tasting. I tried to get a refund from Kelly Putignani (Front Desk Supervisor) and the best they would do is give me a free night stay (not interested!). I should have gotten a refund or at least half off of what I paid. The problem was that there was a wedding reception going on most of the night with Mariachi Music and we could not get any sleep. Service was very poor and could not even get a wine opener from the front desk and the restaurant never answered neither did the "concierge" which apparently there wasn't one. The rooms are outdated and smelly. Too bad because it has potential if they would upgrade and renovate the place and not cater to weddings only. They absolutely do not care for the hotel guest and just care about making money doing weddings. Steer clear! Waste of money and time on the ph w/expedia and the resort trying to get my money back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valid908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Valid908,
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay on Memorial Day Weekend. We do try to cater to all our guests (wedding and hotel) as best as possible, but I am sorry that we were not able to fully accommodate your requests. I am sorry that all our bottle openers at the front desk were gone, but I hope that you were finally able to get one from the restaurant. I apologize that you were not pleased with the room, but we are expecting a major renovation in 2014. Hopefully once we have "upgraded and renovated" you will consider returning and give us a second chance to meet your expectations. Concerning a refund, I hope you understand that we had no jurisdiction over that since you had already paid for the room through Expedia. I hope that other than the inability to refund you, Kelly and the rest of the staff was courteous and helpful. Thank you for your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fallbrook hotels

Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We needed a quick little getaway and we're pleasantly surprised by the Pala Mesa Resort. Though it is smaller and a little older than some places, the atmosphere was very relaxing. The golf course is nicely taken care of, the food at the restaurant was VERY good, and our room was quite spacious and comfortable. The pool area is very nice with towels, showers, and a eating area with umbrellas, just make sure to bring food and drink with you. I would stay here again and join their Aqua Dinner Club, with discounts on room and food, ...and 2 free golf rounds

Room Tip: They all face the same direction, smaller rooms tend to have a better view for some reason, but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Jen,
I am glad that you were "pleasantly surprised" with our resort. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, food, rooms, and grounds. Also, you are more than welcome to order carry-out from the restaurant and bring it to the pool for a picnic! I hope you picked up an Aquaterra Application! If not, you can always find it online. It is true that you get the great deals on food and rooms as well as other amenities. And don't forget Member Mondays! You get 50% off food and beverage at the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We love going to Pala Mesa Resort. The golf course is beautiful. Then the rooms are so relaxing. We love sitting on our porch after a round of golf to read or talk or snack. It just makes for a beautiful weekend. We go without our daughter so we can golf, but we see lots of families at the resort. There is a small enjoyable pool and a playground too.

Room Tip: 240-243 are single story so there is no one above you. We like that.:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Kathleen H.,
I am so glad you enjoy coming to the Pala Mesa Resort. As you probably already know, we do pride ourselves on our outstanding golf course, and I am glad you are able to take advantage of that activity. I am glad you enjoy the rooms and the patio; it can definitely be a nice place to relax after a long day of golf like you said. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had reserved a room the evening before our wedding in order to be fully prepared for the day ahead of us. On that evening before the wedding a large group of our friends, whom were also staying at your resort that night, got together at the Aqua Terra Restaurant for dinner. One of our Bridesmaids who has food allergies went to seek out the Restaurant manager Bridget to discretely discuss her allergies and see if she could recommend anything on the menu that would be safe for her to consume. Apparently that particular manager has little to no experience with food allergies and proceeded to be very rude and even poke fun at her, saying "You must not eat out that often" and repeatedly told her that the food prep staff was not available to inform them about what foods may be safe. I find this extremely unprofessional. There is a large number of people out there with food allergies and your restaurant staff, especially the management, should be informed about your menu so they can give appropriate responses to your guests who have these concerns.

Room Tip: some of the "downstairs" rooms have back patios. the corresponding upstairs rooms have sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Andy T.,
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the response received by the restaurant manager. I understand your concerns about the food allergies and being properly informed about the menu. I hope that if you return to our resort, we will be able to make a good second impression about how great our staff and service can be. Other than the small issue with the restaurant, I hope you had a great stay and congratulations on the wedding. I hope that everything went smoothly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A nice secluded place to go and enjoy some down time. not much to do in the actual resort with the exception of golfing and hitting the pool. the rooms are clean and spacious but do need to be upgraded the pool/spa are needs a serious remolding! but over all it was nice to be away from the city for a while. the resort is not far from Pechenga Casino and Temecula wineries so if you're looking to do some other activities, you are close enough to venture out. the restaurant on site offered live music the nights that we were there (friday and saturday night) the grounds are very pretty. there was a wedding on saturday night and our room was right next to the reception so it was a little loud but not unbearable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Claudia H.,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Although you are correct about the golf and pool being our main amenities, I am glad you realized the other attractions that are close to our resort as well like Pala and Pechanga Casino, Temecula Wineries, Old Town Temecula, and even Downtown San Diego if you wanted to do a little more driving. I am glad you were pleased with the "clean and spacious" room, and I think you will delight in hearing that we are planning a major renovation in 2014. Hopefully when you come to visit us again you will be happy to see the changes we have made. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a wedding guest for four days. The limited menu offers in-room dining on Saturdays and Sundays only. The staff is very service oriented and obviously did whatever they could to make me feel comfortable. I loved it - would happily return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadRunner1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear RoadRunner1444,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Pala Mesa Resort. I hope the wedding was just as enjoyable! Although Room Service is only offered on the weekends, you are always more than welcome to order carry-out from the restaurant on any day of the week. I am so glad that you also recognized our strong dedication to outstanding service. That is one of the aspects we pride ourselves on here at the resort. I hope we can look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fallbrook
7.9 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
13.8 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fallbrook Country Inn
Fallbrook Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Fallbrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
13.7 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pala Mesa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Mesa Resort

Property: Pala Mesa Resort
Address: 2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028-9771
Location: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pala Mesa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pala Mesa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pala Mesa Hotel Fallbrook
Pala Mesa Fallbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing