We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Away from it All”
Review of Pala Mesa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pala Mesa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Resort Away from it All”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort for one night prior to going to a time share presentation at the Welk Resort. The property is beautiful with lots of trees. It is located about 15 minutes from Temecula which is nice since that is where my wife and I spent most of our time before our stay at the resort. The room was comfortable and was a pretty good size.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    83
    61
    39
    42
See reviews for
90
117
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Loved this resort/hotel. We made a last minute booking on a spur of the minute get away to Temecula. All the hotels were booked as it was a holiday weekend and we made this sight-unseen booking and were very pleased we did. A beautiful resort, let us forget we had to go back to work in the city on Monday... A few miles out of Temecula, but only a few minutes down the freeway, set against the mountains and miles of beautiful scenery all around. The staff were very friendly, from the front desk clerk cheery greeting when we arrived to the restaurant staff - so polite and made us feel very welcome. Our room was on the 2nd floor of a ranch style building. Obviously renovated from the 70s, but really charming, with a beautiful balcony where we sat for morning coffee. It has a cosy, country style, but was clean and well maintained. Only downfall was the flat screen television that was snowy and the movie channel was jumpy and poor quality. Breakfast in the restaurant was great - really delicious food and fantastic view out onto the golf course. We had a great time and would definitely stay there again and recommend it. Thank you.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor to avoid noise from ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebird_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

First time to stay at this resort. When we arrived we found out our reservation had been cancelled. We waited about 30 min. so that it could be taken care of. A nice gentleman finally took matters into his hands and fixed everything for us. The staff was helpful. We were very appreciative. The room we stayed in was 2 queen size beds. The bed was very comfortable. The outside environment is gorgeous. We were able to use a back patio to sit outside and look at nature. The pool was just outside of our room as well. Quiet and peaceful for a morning walk or just to sit outdoors and drink a cup of coffee. They take very good care of the grounds. The room we stayed in is in need of much care. The closet doors fell out, the marble above the sink was cracked and glued back together. No microwave in the room. It is in need of an update. The inside of the rooms did not match the outside of the whole property. If you are here to enjoy the grounds then it will suit you. If you are here to enjoy your room, I hope you get a better room than we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapplelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We purchased the unlimited golf/room package and were very pleased with the room and golf course. Everyone was extremely helpful from booking the room to scheduling the golf. The staff were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This property is a mixed bag. On the plus side, the staff is amazing--very helpful, friendly, and responsive--and the grounds are immaculate, as is the main lodge. If you come just to get married or play golf, maybe that's all you'll care about, and you'll love it here.

But I actually came to stay in the hotel, and here's where it all falls apart--quite literally. The rooms are located a short drive from the lodge. They are in several 1950's motel-style two-story buildings, each room opening to the outside, with parking right outside your room. They have very tired decor--even the "updated" rooms--but the real problem is the buildings themselves. In neither of the two we stayed in during our 12-day visit, was the plumbing reliable: showers often had little pressure, and made thumping noises in the pipes akin to a diesel generator going full throttle. The walls and floors are paper thin and transmit every footstep from above or conversation in the parking lot right into your ear.

In one building, there was no Internet, either wired or wireless; in the other, it worked only occasionally. The sliding door to our patio never really closed right, letting in a draft, and making one worry about security. One of the drawers in the armoire required five minutes of delicate positioning to close properly. Most bizarrely, the guests in the next room found themselves trapped, unable to open their door, and so the desk called to ask if we could open our common door to let them out. (As soon as they made their escape through our room, workers began hammering away on their door, so I assume it was eventually fixed.)

The rooms that hadn't been updated had old tube TVs. The new ones had a flatscreen, but, the signal still wasn't in HD. The bathroom had a general sense of mildew and rustiness near the corners and windows (yes, there are windows in the bathroom--in the shower to be precise, albeit opaque and high up). Indeed, the rooms themselves had a "musty basement" odor.

There is an outdoor heated pool near the rooms, which looked nice (didn't use) but the fitness center is located in a trailer parked in the middle of a field way out past the driving range, right next to another labeled "Human Resources." It may be nice inside, but being far away and not really pedestrian accessible meant we didn't use that, either.

So keep all that in mind if you're thinking of staying here to sleep. You may not be able to get a decent shower, you might not be able to use your internet--heck, you might not even be able to get out of your room.

But at least the staff will be very accommodating and helpful as you walk through the beautifully manicured grounds, again, to seek a remedy. I have never met nicer and more helpful staff. If only they had a hotel to match their service.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here, and want one of their standard rooms (they do have upgraded suites al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fallbrook hotels

Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Thiis is one of the most tranquil places we have ever stayed. The rooms are large, the view from
your balcony or patio will be beautiful. Starbucks coffee in-room and high quality bath amenities.
Well decorated rooms, excellent beds and bed linens. My husband and I stay here 2 or 3 times
a year and are always amazed to find a hotel room that has bedside lights that are bright enough
to read by. Located on a golf course, good restaurant with somewhat slow service. The price
is very good for the accomodations. We only wish we had the time to visit more often.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance if possible, on summer week-ends they seem to fill up, lots of golfers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynpiercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 782 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was here just one night, as the big casino hotel in Temecula was full, and the other places in Temecula seemed overpriced. It's about a ten minute drive away, good directions from the hotel website make it easy to find. My room was spacious and very clean. Everything looked quite newly refurbished. Just a few very minor grout issues in the bathroom, but nice furniture and bedding. No signs of bed bugs here. The t.v. is old style, but acceptable. The grounds are quite beautiful. There is a restaurant, but they only have room service on some days/nights. I think the restaurant closes at 9 pm, and there is nothing else nearby, except driving to Temecula. There was a nice sized refrigerator in the room, no safe, but easy parking near your room. Some rooms will have a flight of stairs to deal with, but not all. I didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms. I think it's a much better choice than staying in Temecula, cause it's like a resort and a very peaceful setting. It's a golf club, so it looked like the might even have some evening live entertainment some nights. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fallbrook
7.9 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
889 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
#4 of 6 in Fallbrook
12 reviews
13.8 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown
13.7 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pala Mesa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Mesa Resort

Property: Pala Mesa Resort
Address: 2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028-9771
Location: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pala Mesa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Pala Mesa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pala Mesa Hotel Fallbrook
Pala Mesa Fallbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing