We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SoCal Mountain Valley Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pala Mesa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pala Mesa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Ocean Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SoCal Mountain Valley Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Right off of Old Hwy 395 is a golf resort with emense grounds, lots a rooms/buildings and wonderful mountain views. We spent a weekend at a friend's wedding and had a relaxing, restfull time without issues, anxiety or worries. Their restuarant, Aquaterra, was enjoyable without being pretentious. The room service was quick and quiet. The rooms are spacious; we had a deluxe suite with dry bar. In-room movies are expensive, up to $17 each and regular tv is not always clear, but your tucked away in the hills and surrounded by comfy pillows and quiet spaces. A popular wedding party place so be prepared but don't worry there is plenty of room on these grounds.

Room Tip: Special event rates are the best bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    78
    60
    38
    42
See reviews for
88
112
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a great place for a staycation if you live in the S.D. or L.A. area. We drove up from San Diego for just 1 night. My husband played golf and loved the course. I took a few hours and drove the short distance to Old Town Temecula to do some antiquing, then back to the hotel to enjoy some alone time by the pool. The grounds are gorgeous and you think you are up in the mountains when you are just a short distance from a major freeway. The restaurant on site has great ambiance and wonderful food and very friendly staff. We will be back for sure

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a golf course view, the landscaping is great to look out on, trees an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have passed by this resort many times while driving on I-15. Looked very nice from the interstate. Should have taken closer look before making reservations. I often like to mix the good with the bad , so, I will provide info on both. The food was excellent. In fact, it's the best thing about the resort. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The rooms were large and comfortable. That about does it for the good. The bad. The golf course is in dire need of maintenance. I don't know if it's the weather or a lack of personnel, but the course really needs some work. If someone finds a yardage marker on a sprinkler head or marked on the cart paths, please let me know. Attempting to determine our yardage easily added a half hour to our game. The only good thing I can say about the course are the prices. Very reasonable for a "resort", that as it is.

The entire property desperately needs a facelift. We did not find it very attractive. Additonally, they only have one pool and it's small, compared to most resorts. They need to enlarge the pool and it's area or add an additional pool somewhere on the property. Also, if you are going to advertise that you have a jacuzzi, make sure it's working. If it's in need of repair, then have someone working on it until it's fixed. Hanging an "out-of-order" sign doesn't quite cut it. The mgmt might also want to make sure all their ice machines and beverage dispensers, located around the resort, are working and full. It was over a 100 degrees and the ice machine located near our room had one of those jacuzzi signs posted on it.

All in all, we had a nice stay but we won't be going back. One more thing. They need to hire a bartender who knows how to make a proper "bloody mary". My wife almost choked on hers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

With no other food options nearby we were stuck with the awful, overpriced food at the club's only restaurant called Aquaterra. The service is amazingly slow and the staff aeem annoyed and unknowedgable. It took 3 staff members to find out what was in a dish. There were no specials, and some of the food items available such as the deep fried peanut and butter sandwich with raspberry sauce were enough to make me skip desert and track someome down to pay and get out of there.
The only redeimg quality of Aquaterra is the beautifully view of the golf course.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaLoveLife_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pala Mesa Resort for a wedding. The wedding experience was wonderful considering the extremely high temperatures that day (106 degrees). The service, venue and food was excellent. We have never seen a better venue for a wedding ceremony. We also had the opportunity to play golf and enjoyed the course very much. The greens were in excellent condition along with the fairways. The green fees were very fair considering the quality of the course.

We ate several meals in the Aqua Terra Bar and Restaurant. All were excellent and the service outstanding. Out room and patio was everything we could have hope for during our stay. It was clean, updated and worked very well for our cocktail party on the deck. Couldn't believe that everything we experienced during our 5 day stay was exactly as advertised on the website. We will return again when out travels take us to the San Diego area.

Room Tip: We loved our patio suite 467. The room was very large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The lobby, restaurant and public rooms did not disappoint, nor did the restaurant and Sunday Brunch. The reception and restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The room though was disappointing and not good value for money. It was dark and dingy and although clean it felt grimy. The bedcover and bed cushions were outdated and being heavy I did not feel these would had been laundered between guest stays. They smelt musty and did not have a clean laundered smell or feel. After 2 nights we were given a complimentary upgrade as the room we occupied was due for maintenance. This turned out to be for the treatment of termites. Pool area was also closed for maintenance. Upgraded room had larger bathroom but was not anymore comfortable and view was of the car park although first room had a lovely view of the golf course.
The grounds were well kept although badly lit pathways from main buildings back to rooms.

Room Tip: Would not recommend paying extra for deluxe room which may overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briarleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

CALL HOTEL DIRECTLY FOR BETTER RATE AND USE AAA CARD.

From other reviewers I have seen some terms like, "outdated" and "dirty old rooms." I don't know what those reviewers expected but this is a rustic-type golf resort that is not going to feel like or look like an upscale city hotel. Our room was immaculate and the sheets were crisp and clean. The grounds were beautiful with many room choices and at multiple property levels depending which view the room had. Exceptionally quiet and I am a stickler for quiet! From reservation to check-out all staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: CALL THE HOTEL DIRECTLY AND GET A BETTER RATE! Also use your AAA card. I thought a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyIrish121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fallbrook
7.9 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
13.8 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fallbrook Country Inn
Fallbrook Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Fallbrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
13.7 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pala Mesa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Mesa Resort

Property: Pala Mesa Resort
Address: 2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028-9771
Location: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pala Mesa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pala Mesa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pala Mesa Hotel Fallbrook
Pala Mesa Fallbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing