We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service and food”
Review of Valley Fort Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Valley Fort Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At site of old Cask N Cleaver
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good service and food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had dinner here last night, the first time I have been since re-opening, I will definitely dine there again. I had the salmon dinner and it was delicious. The salad was fresh and tasty. My friend had the prime rib. He likes it well done, and most places still hand him a bloody slab. He enjoyed his whole dinner. The vegetables were cooked, yet crispy. It did take a while to get a second beverage, but, all in all a good dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need a person who knows how to cook”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I hope the owners take note of the reviews or else they won't have customers. The rolls were supermarket quality - almost burnt on the bottom, they were hard and dark brown. The vegtable side was yucky - no flavor no imagination almost gross. The filet was tender but luke warm and NO flavor, I don't think they know how to spice anything. It also wasn't wrapped in bacon which normally would of been ok if the steak had any kind of flavor. The clam chowder was ok almost borderline had that hint of flour taste but not too bad. We were there early so there wasn't a big rush, but saw two table send their food back - not a good sign. It's a shame, there must be good cooks out there that can cook. The first time we were there our prime rib was horrible, had to send back. Fallbrook resident

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wish I could say I loved this place... the wait staff treated us terribly. I asked to speak to the owner and his reaction was "oh well". Appetizers were all we were able to order as we no longer were visited by the server. Drinks never refilled and horrible service. Hurt & disappointed by lack of caring and willingness to improve

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joycefuljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“About Time in Fallbrook”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Steakhouse is a good place to get a nice steak and drink. Much better than the cask and cleaver.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's a bit like the Old West!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Valley Fort is a true steakhouse in the old tradition. The grounds are designed to make you feel like you are in an old western town. The steak was great...I went to a brunch and had steak and eggs, and a mimosa. It was excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucia826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Fort Steakhouse also viewed

 
Fallbrook, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing