We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place for Fourth of July”

Grand Tradition Estate and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Fallbrook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the rolling hills of Fallbrook, California lies the Grand Tradition Estate. Its 15 acres of year-round gardens are a beloved Southern California landmark. Discover a profusion of natural splendor along carefully crafted pathways of flowering plants, majestic palms and cascading waterfalls. Dedicated in 1984 by the McDougal family, these magnificent grounds have hosted over a million visitors from around the world.Come walk the property, eat lunch at The Veranda Restaurant, or enjoy a chef prepared picnic lunch on the manicured grounds of this north San Diego County gem. Make reservations for lunch at The Veranda Restaurant serving daily from 11am to 2pm.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Place for Fourth of July”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Since moving to Fallbrook almost five summers ago, we have not missed a 4th of July Picnic, music, and fireworks show. The venue is beautiful with lush gardens and grass surrounding the lake with the gazebo /bandstand out on a pennisula. The kids love the games, lawns and fireworks show, which is up above as you lie on the grass. Adults love it, too with dancing to live upbeat music, if you are so inclined. Admission price includes food tickets and is quite reasonable. One of my favorites during my 70 years - love seeing the kids having a great American time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mkvowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a well-loved treasure in Fallbrook. I especially love the concerts they have in the summer around the lake.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FallbrookNeighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch on the Veranda with Amazing View!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Grand Traditions in Fallbrook is a must when visiting Fallbrook You can have lunch or brunch on their veranda known as the Veranda Restaurant. The food is delicious and all home made. I was there for brunch last Saturday with my family and it was delightful. The veranda overlooks the heart shaped lake and gazebo and some of the gardens, spectacular! After lunch we went on a tour of the gardens (cost $2.50 per person). Walking through the gardens is a spiritual experience. There are waterfalls, sitting areas and the gardens are magnificent. Make sure you bring your camera. My husband and I are residents of Fallbrook and we come here often.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NanC1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spectacular Gardens, Good Food!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We visited on a beautiful sunny day. Can get discounted admission if you book lunch. Luncheon menu is very reasonably priced and portions are hearty. Offers beer/wine at lunch too. Gardens are meticulously maintained and visually stunning! Hours are somewhat limited (restaurant only 11-2) and there are no dinner hours offered.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
457 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or a picnic”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Grand Tradition Gardens is a popular place for weddings but it also has a good restaurant for lunch or brunch on weekends There are tables inside or on a nice balcony overlooking a lake and the beautiful gardens. There are walking trails all through the gardens and lots of picnic tables. Reservations are necessary for the restaurant and for picnic lunches as the place is very popular.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Tradition Estate and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Grand Tradition Estate and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing