We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of The Wayside Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wayside Cafe
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Wayside Cafe is recently under new ownership. We offer indoor/outdoor seating. Delicious homemade pies. Ice cream sundaes and malts. We have a great team and forward to seeing you soon!
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is okay but not terrific. A little pricey for what you get. Fried chicken is good but you have to wait. I have had breakfast here many times until I realized there certainly are better places around. You have to go to Temecula but worth driving 20 minutes to get a decent breakfast.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sorry its gone...”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Unfortunately its closed. We used to get breakfast there at least twice a month. Great greasy spoon with excellent atmosphere!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

it's the greasy spoon of the hood. large portions fun to meet a bunch of friends there and gorge on totally unhealthy faire.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amelia1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“They're Closed Now”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This poor place needs to be remodled. But, they're closed now, so I guess that won't happen. Food was just okay when they were open.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deenusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wayside Cafe menu showcases avocados”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stopped here for lunch during the annual Fallbrook Avocado Festival in April 2012. Cute and funky, with friendly staff and fun atmostphere. They were handling the crowds very well...seating parties and boxing avocado treats to go. I tried the fried avocado with ranch dressing and also with powdered sugar (recommended by my server). The Tuna Wrap with avocado was huge...could have shared with someone! I had them pack an avocado brownie to go...topped with avocado creme...as pretty as it was delicous, and huge!. They have lots of small booths and tables, plus a back porch. I enjoyed my lunch and am taking a group of avocadophiles there for lunch later this week! Not fancy...just good...and lots of fun!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_Avocado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing