We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively inexpensive (for the area), OK stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cordelia
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Fairfield
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I was looking for a relatively inexpensive but clean and safe place to stay for a short visit to the bay area. Some of the other cheaper places in the east bay area seemed either a bit spotty or not that cheap (i.e., Berkeley) or in a crime ridden neighborhood (i.e., Vallejo). So I pushed my search further out towards Fairfield.

Cordelia is just southwest of Fairfield proper. This hotel is located at a freeway intersection of highway 80 that seems to have been developed expressly for travelers - there are several inexpensive to medium level hotels at this intersection as well as several fast food chain restaurants and gas stations.

As others have noted, the hotel is not far away from Discovery Kingdom, probably less than 30 minutes away. I was headed for San Francisco, the Presidio area, which, depending on the traffic, was about 1-2 hours away.

The hotel was fairly clean, although not totally scrubbed clean. Lift the night stand next to the bed, and you discover lots of small bits of accumulated dirt and debris, probably driven there by a hurried vacuum cleaning. After seeing that, although the carpet looked clean, I didn't quite trust it to walk barefoot on it. The bathroom door had some spots on it that were probably somebody's dirty handprints. The bathroom itself was otherwise clean looking.

The beds and bedsheets were comfortable and clean. Everything was pretty quite. No complaints there.

Yes, there is free wifi internet. Not the fastest, but OK. Could not dig out the phone jack into which I was told I could plug in a network cable for a faster hardwired connection (this was how I came to lift up the nightstand - digging around for the phone jack).

There is a desktop computer in the lobby with an internet connection. Tried to print out some stuff, but the printer was low on ink.

The breakfast was a mostly continental style breakfast with the only hot food being scrambled eggs and sausage and a hot waffle maker. I ate it because it was free, but didn't find it that appealing - the hot food part wasn't that well executed.

The cable TV was very basic - HBO and a few others. No History Channel or Discovery channel, etc. Oh well, I really didn't want to watch TV much anyway.

The people at the front desk were fairly friendly and helpful.

All in all, it was an ok stay for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vrmgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

Wanted to spend money on wine and food, NOT on hotels in Napa. This was great for that purpose. A 20 minute drive or so away from wineries. Rooms were just fine. Breakfast was better than most in this class, but can be wiped out by Asian bus tourists taking anything and everything on offer. No big deal tho as the staff tried to keep refilling.

A little funky that rooms in the back can not be accessed by the back door (no keyed entrance), but a trivial issue unless you have bunch of luggage.

Front desk helpful with directions to wineries.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovineye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

breakfast has sausage, egg, waffle, cereal, and many more. Room is very clean and nice for the price ($55/night). Very close to Napa Wineries (about 20 minutes drive).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_addict_bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Clean room, large bathroom, good breakfest, free internet and very quiet at night. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovebird_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I got a couple rooms here recently for my family and my in-laws; four adults, a six-year old, and a four-month old. Both rooms were clean and sleep was actually quiet considering we were on the ground floor and right next to the pool. There was a nasty ashtray overflowing with cig butts within a foot of the security door leading out to the parking lot. Fortunately our non-smoking rooms were clean and not stinking of cigarette smoke.

Biggest plus is the free breakfast which includes eggs, sausage, and a do-it-yourself waffle station! The eggs and sausage were both thin and round (better than no protein)--perfectly shaped to make your own sausage & egg muffin sandwich. DIY waffle station was great, pour the batter (either plain or chocolate) into a commercial waffle iron and 3 minutes later you've got a fresh, large belgian waffle! The breakfast room also includes all the other typical breakfast items, cereal and milk, coffee, pastries, bread, bagels, etc.

Location is just what we needed, about 10 minutes from Six Flags Discovery Kingdom in Vallejo (our final destination) and about $30 less than the other hotel across the street from Discovery Kingdom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a great stay and I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conradw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I were a little tentative about staying at this Comfort Inn for nearly a week -- but we had one of the best travel experiences at this wonderful location. The hotel was in an absolute perfect spot to travel to wineries in Napa, Sonoma and Suisun Valley, not to mention a relatively short drive to San Francisco.

On top of the great location, all service staff we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful with everything we needed over the course of the week. The room was kept very clean throughout the stay.

The one and only bad experience we had was with lots of children during the weekend; while the resort is very quiet during the week, once Fri/Sat rolls around kids are running and screaming through the hallways by 6 a.m. Maybe this was a one-time thing, but it was hard to find quiet during those two days.

The best part? The price. I couldn't believe the final total of the stay; this place is an absolute steal for the service and quality. I am definitely heading back to Fairfield in the future and when I do this will be where I check in.

Room Tip: If at all possible, stay during weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billie00jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

They are always very professional and nice. the rooms are always clean and the breakfast in the morning is great for a picky family like mine. We choose this hotel because the price,location,room, and staff are always great. so if u want a great hotel for a lower then normal price for the area stay here

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellybh896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfield hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield - Napa Valley
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Fairfield/Napa Valley CA
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fairfield Napa Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfield
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairfield Napa Valley Area
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fairfield - Napa Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cordelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cordelia

Address: 4441 Central Pl, Fairfield, CA 94534-1669 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range: $86 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cordelia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Cordelia is centrally located between San Francisco and Sacramento, just minutes from the beautiful Napa Valley wineries. This Fairfield, CA hotel is minutes from Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Chapman University, Travis Air Force Base and the Infineon Raceway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cordelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cordelia Hotel Fairfield
Comfort Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing