We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Soul

Chez Soul
Ranked #12 of 234 Restaurants in Fairfield
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have been looking for restaurants in Fairfield through TripAdvisor and this was rated #2. It should be #1! We loved it. The fried chicken is cooked to order...rice and beans were delish and so were the hush puppies. This is family owned and everyone is lovely and very accommodating. I wanted some cole slaw with my chicken and they made it on the spot! We look forward to returning to try other items on the menu. It is place out of the past...very down-to-earth and so tasty. Highly recommend! Like being in Louisana...or Loozeianna!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Soul Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you love soul food this restaurant will not disappoint! They've got fried chicken, fried catfish, hush puppies, collard greens, red beans and rice, banana pudding, sweet potato pie and more. I ordered the fried chicken, collard greens, red beans and rice. The chicken was fresh and juicy. The collard greens were a little spicy and very tasty. The red beans and rice were the best I've had in CA.

They give very generous portions, no matter how good it tastes - save room for dessert! We had some of the banana pudding it was awesome! The sweet potato pie came out as a warm. mini pie that was super flavorful with a generous amount of I'm thinking ginger and cloves?

We went on Saturday and enjoyed live music, great service and we were not rushed out of the restaurant. This is a fun place to go on a date if you are new to southern cooking. Also lots of good, home cooked, family food so you can bring your family as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamArnwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Epitome of Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The food is succulent and divine, the service is outstanding and the atmosphere is one of understated elegance! My absolute favorite place to eat in Fairfield!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check it out!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Great food! Amazing fried chicken and the best baked beans!!! Catfish was tastey too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimmVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best southern food on the west coming from someone who's the south.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We ate here based on the recommendations made on tripadvisor and they were right. We were touring Napa's wine country and decided to give it a try. This is the best southern food on the west coast and I know southern food (was raised on it). I just wish they were in the south.

Food - cooked to order so its fresh, HOT and delicious! Hot food is a big deal to southern folk like myself. Water has lemon and fresh mint - very nice touch. Large food portions so keep this in mind when ordering fried chicken. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that they season a lot of veggies with smoked turkey (I don't eat pork) and when I say the greens and black eye peas were on point I mean it! Delishhhh! The menu has a lot of different options for lunch, dinner and there must've been 12 different desserts so there's something for everyone.

Atmosphere - very nice, clean fresh and updated very well for a downtown establishment. Colors are nice neutral and the bakery display makes you want to have dessert before dinner. Bathrooms were clean, and had toilet seat covers. I also liked that the bathrooms were not directly inside the dining area so there were no unpleasant odors seeping into the room.

Service: family owned and operated; they were very friendly whether they were your waitor or not. We got a 10% discount for checking in on Facebook.

Overall, great experience. So glad we opted to try it instead of dining at one of Napa Valley's restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpaul24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Soul also viewed

 

Been to Chez Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing