We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Bad Food and Service”
Review of Mary's Pizza Shack

Mary's Pizza Shack
Ranked #36 of 236 Restaurants in Fairfield
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Bad Food and Service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food and service at this restaurant was really bad. It took almost a hour for our meal to be served from the time we placed the order. My wife's Chicken Fettucine Alfredo was horrible. It almost looked like it had been refrigerated overnight and it had a horrible after taste. The chicken used in the dish was overly stale and dried out. This was our second trip to this restaurant and the food was nothing to rave about during the first visit either. The entrees are pricier in Mary's than those at Strings, so we expected the food to be on par, or better. We didn't get our money's worth on this trip. I would recommend patron's pass on this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jedmonds905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our "go to" restaurant”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is my husband and my "go to" italian restaurant. He can order his pizza and I love their clam dish which is actually and appetizer but plenty for me.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank clowndoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, california
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have been having dinner at Mary's in Fairfield for many years, and find it to be very consistent in good quality of food and service. It is not fancy, but reminds of your typical neighborhood pizza joint, only with a very nice selection of other "California-Italian" entrees. The younger waitstaff are usually very friendly and attentive. They offer some delicious sauces on most of their pasta dishes--especially the gnocci, ravioli, and tortellini. Great value! Sometimes on weekend nights it is a bit crowded, but longest wait in more than 50 visits has been 5 minutes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairfield_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“food blah, takes forever. always busy...why?”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

So Mary's seems to have a big following. OK so their salad and pizza are fine, but if you branch out into the pasta side of things, you are only going to get rather mediocre stuff, and pasta with pesto takes 45 minutes? reallY?
A lot of schools do fundraiser nights here, so keep in mind that it can be insanely crowded on rather random days.
Decor is good. Alfredo is good. The rest...meh.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyetraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good local cafe”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Wish they would show calories and make pizza less greasy-menu could stand updating with lower calorie options

Helpful?
Thank cookieladyBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Pizza Shack also viewed

 

Been to Mary's Pizza Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing