We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Fairfax”
Review of Sorella Cafe

Sorella Cafe
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairfax, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best of Fairfax”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our week isn't complete until we go to Sorella Cafe for our favorite dish: sautéed calamari in a marinara sauce served with vegetables and bread to accompany the complimentary cheese appetizer.. Of course we have a glass of red wine to compliment this tasty meal. To top off our dinner, we have the homemade coconut flan. Delicious!

We love the friendly, vibrant atmosphere which often includes live music and friendly conversation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great meal after a Point Reyes hike”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent.The raviolis were wonderful.The specials were special.The atmosphere was fun,local and family.We arrived just before 5pm and picked our table,10 minutes later the place was full. Not a date place early in the evening.Large servings,great tastes and good value.We will return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The sisters put out a wonderful meal, in a friendly, warm atmosphere….always an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Casual and Fun!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Driving around checking out the area from San Rafael, through San Anselmo and then Fairfax around 8p on a Tuesday - not sure what to eat but getting very hungry. Drove by Sorella Caffe (it does have two 'f's, by the way), and noticed it was packed; always a promising sign.

Some places aren't thrilled about solo diners, but nary a blink of an eye here. In fact, several table options were offered ... my choice. Nice. After being seated, it did take a little longer than expected to place my order, but that was only one of two serving hitches (the other was forgetting to bring my second glass of wine @ $7 each).

Complimentary and delicious sourdough bread with real butter was brought as was the mythical "huge wheel of parmesan". Honestly. It is a big wheel of parmesan and a chunk is provided for your enjoyment.

Waitress (think she may have been one of the sister-owners) was helpful with dinner choices, providing a wealth of information about specials, etc. Went with the lentil and kale soup @ $3.90: good, but better with grated parmesan, which was cheerfully provided. Main course was lasagna @ $15.90. HUGE portion (half went home with me for next day's lunch) and very good. Dessert was coconut/caramel flan @ $6. Good but nothing special, name sounded more exotic than it tasted.

Dish of gummy bears and dish of animal crackers were brought at the end of the meal ... very fun and tasty. Also enjoyed the dessert wine and was pleasantly surprised when the bottle was left for me to refill my glass at will. Very nice.

What you are getting here is a solid, neighborhood (and seemingly, well loved by the locals), cheery, fun place to hang. Saw adults coloring (kids did, too) and everyone waved to each other both arriving and leaving. Everyone entering was greeted profusely by all wait-staff with an equally hearty acknowledgment when departing.

Ambiance very casual. Two gas fireplaces provide a little warmth both aesthetically and practically. Staff incredibly helpful and very cheerful. Even witnessed my waitress skip away from the table to the kitchen. Really, she skipped. Which reminded me we should all skip more often, and this place just might give you a reason to skip, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Neighborhood favorites with locals”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The best spot to hang out and get a great meal! They bring you cheese that they cut right out of the wheel at your table! They also have gummy bears with your check. It's uniformly excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorella Cafe also viewed

Fairfax, Marin County
 
Fairfax, Marin County
Fairfax, Marin County
 

Been to Sorella Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing