We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Concept But A Miss”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Avatar Punjabi Burritos
Ranked #17 of 40 Restaurants in Fairfax
Restaurant details
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Concept But A Miss”
Reviewed July 4, 2016

After looking at on-line reviews, we came across Avatar Burritos and decided to give it a try as I love Indian food and the possibility of it being in a burrito was too hard to pass up - could be a great combo.

After looking at the wide variety of choices, I went with the chicken with curried sweet potato and the vegetable samosa plate. The samosas were good enough, especially with the sauce. The burrito on the other had was not good. I barely could choke down half of it. Both chicken and sweet potato are delicate flavors and couldn't taste either as the burrito was way over-spiced. This was very disappointing - maybe another combination would have been better but I'm pretty reluctant to find out.

  • Visited June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and Affordable”
Reviewed March 10, 2016

Here's a nice place to stop off on the way out to Point Reyes to pick up lunch for a picnic at the beach or to sit down for a meal after a day of hiking. Interesting combinations and many options for those seeking vegetarian or gluten free items.

  • Visited October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food: Fast and delicious”
Reviewed December 10, 2015

this is a wonderful restaurant for Indian inspired, clean, flavorful food. It's fresh, spicy, interesting, inexpensive and nutritious. We stop several times a month for take-out. My favorite is the lamb and smoked eggplant rice plate. Wonderful!

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank PrimatePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful simple Indian restaurant”
Reviewed September 2, 2015

The food was wonderful and affordable. Fresh ingredients. A wonderful server. And we ate outside on a lovely day. What could be better

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Va
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting Indian”
Reviewed June 8, 2015

We stopped here for a dinner on our way home from a day touring wineries. Not quite
fast food but you order at the counter and they bring it to you at your table. Very
interesting take on Indian mixed with some Mexican influences. Lots of gluten free
choices. I had one of the burritos with lamb and veggies and it was very good. We enjoyed our food and will return again.

  • Visited April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avatar Punjabi Burritos also viewed

Fairfax, Marin County
Fairfax, Marin County
 
Fairfax, Marin County
Fairfax, Marin County
 

Been to Avatar Punjabi Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing