We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, good wine and beer selection”
Review of 123 Bolinas

123 Bolinas
Reserve with OpenTable
123 Bolinas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 40 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Close to regional buses
Description: phone - 415-488-6123 - a great little organic wine bar serving great food as well
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, good wine and beer selection”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stopped in here for a mid afternoon break while strolling around the Fairfax area. We had only intended to warm up with some wine and beer, but added in an artisan cheese plate for munchies. Sitting near the fireplace on a chilly afternoon, with an excellent cheese and olives selection, accompanied by good spirits was ideal ambiance, and was well executed on the part of the restaurant. I will have to go back on my next visit to Fairfax this coming Spring. I imagine the place is less than ideal for a larger meal, since it has more of a wine and cheese bar flavor than a restaurant, although the menu does offer more than what we tried. I would have liked to see a more diverse selection of beers on draft, since all were ones with the same rather hoppy pseudo-IPA character (one of our party opted for the flight of beer).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
931 reviews
503 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Still a HOT spot; don't leave the area without a visit”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Still a great spot but parking is tough; great selection of wines but they have no ice should you also want a glass of cold water.
We didn't eat this visit but we have other times and it was very good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I ate here last Saturday night and had a nice time. The place is small but not too busy when we arrived at 6:30. Your seating options are a communal table, individual tables that are low with square blocks for chairs (didn't look comfortable) or the bar. We opted for the bar, which was great. We wanted only a light meal so we ordered the spring pea soup (phenomenal!) and the crab cake (very good but not outstanding). The wine selection was decent and very reasonably priced. This place has the feel of a real local venue, which is what we like when we travel. We will definitely return next time we are in Marin County.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennysMom08003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You will feel out of place if you are old”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great food and ambience. Hard to find room on many occasions. We prefer it to the restaurant next door when there is room. I wish it were bigger.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Love_East_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Informal Fun”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Interesting menu and great food.

Nice selection of beers and wines.

Charming atmosphere, including off-beat furniture.

Competent service.

Nice location for walking around before or after.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 123 Bolinas also viewed

Fairfax, Marin County
Fairfax, Marin County
 
Fairfax, Marin County
 

Been to 123 Bolinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing