We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming!”

Fairfax Inn Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfax Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfax B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at this property while visiting family in Marin County. It was just what I wanted...clean, comfortable and within walking distance to family, restaurants and shopping. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family rented six rooms for a several night stay for a reunion. We chose this hotel due to proximity to a family member's house.

It is not a bed and breakfast. More like an abbreviated low cost motel with a few ( and same each day) breakfast choices... Dry cereal and left over pastries. The hot water and tea bags were good.
But we went to The Roastery down the street for coffee and croissants.

Rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. But there are only two small lumpy pillows per bed. We had to ask for more in unit 5.

The placement of the bed was the cause for bruising. The oversized entertainment center ( in unit 5) is only about 15 inches from the square cornered footboard. (Similar in other units. The doors in the center in one unit did not push in when open, making the passageway even smaller). Two persons could not pass at the same time. Additionally, you were bound to cut the corner too sharply when getting up during the night thereby causing a significant bruise. Been there/done that. No hotel should have square corners on a footboard. The problem could be minimized by either replacing the center with a much smaller unit, placing the small television on a table, or switching the table and center in a different area of the room.

The ceiling fan is great.... If you desire only one speed, which is hurricane force. One room fan didn't work at all, so management had to bring in a floor fan. The Manager was very accommodating and friendly in all aspects, but she acknowledged she was aware of the intermittent fan problem, but apparently hasn't had it fixed. Wall switches for the fans did not work properly in all rooms.

A small rubber stopper on the shower head in a few rooms popped out at first causing water to spray all over their bathroom.

Unit 6 has a transom window that allows in the sun making the room especially hot.

Room hair dryers must be originals and only work well on bald heads. One room didn't bring a dryer because she was told there were dryers provided - but they barely blow warm air. Management provided her with a portable unit at her request..

At least one room's fireplace did not work.

The hotel is in a great location if you don't want to drive to restaurants, etc. But it could have been noisier if the attached but unrelated bar had not been under construction. Unit 5 was quiet even with the window open.

Hotel structure is in need of maintenance and updating.

Because of location, the price is probably "reasonable" for the area, which is something to consider. But we wouldn't stay here again unless there were improvements.

Room Tip: Unit 5 was quiet even with windows open. Unit 6 has a transom window allowing a lot of light in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Fairfax Inn in Fairfax, CA, March 14 &15. Had stayed about 4 years ago, and now, it's somewhat run-down. Dirty bedspreads, terrible lumpy pillows. The weird vaulted ceiling has a top window in the units with no shade on it, so be prepared for early morning light. I was in room 5 and it wasn't that noisy from the two raunchy bars that are on the street in front of the hotel. I didn't bother with the breakfast because I figured it was cold cereal and bad coffee. Went to the wonderful Roastery down the block. They need to paint and recarpet these rooms. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

To start with, it's not a "bed and breakfast" any more. The continental breakfast also leaves a lot to be desired.
The room was nice even if the TV was old. If you enjoy a jacuzzi, this might be a place to check out. The price was very reasonable for the location. The location makes it easy to miss and all the rooms appear to be on the second floor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff, well appointed rooms with jacuzzis, right in the heart of Fairfax's lively (and charming) downtown. We were surprised to get such a nice place for $120. Really enjoyed it. I agree that the breakfast was a little light, but that's hardly a turn off in my book.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drwagner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed in the king bed suite, the highest priced room @$160. a night. The room was nice. We had the following issues: the futon close to the tv was worn out and uncomfortable to sit/lie on, one of the reading lights in the headboard wasn't working, the towels were like loofahs, ice machine is in office, continental breakfast is by no means deluxe and it was noisy on weekend nights since there is a bar right next door. The pluses were the beautiful mountain view and the hotel's location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toomuch2C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The inn is down a long driveway off the street, we missed it at first, down the long driveway behind a large music club in town.
Rooms are upstairs, high cathedral ceilings, ceiling fan and A/C / fan for white noise. Most importantly we finally saw the pocket door which created an airblock in the entry to keep out the nightclub noise at night. That noise was never a problem and they had a big show the first night !
Nice size bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, i got bathsalt at the health food store and jumped in.

When we checked in the couple next to us were having a fight, just a lot of yelling. gave it a little while to blow over, but with the yelling from the club patio at 5 pm also going on , we thought "things can only get worse" . Went down and asked to be moved.
The (owners? ) deskclerk response " I just checked them in , they are a nice couple" and grudgingly showing us another room. Sure they may be nice, but they are pissed of at each other right now and with a possible alcohol fueled evening i don't want to be the neighbor!
Second room had more wear and tear on it, little things broken , some dirt on walls.
We didn't feel welcome by the clerks when we first came in and after this exchange never even went in to get coffee in the morning, so can not give review of breakfast.

Location was too far out for the rest of our stay in Marin County so will not choose this location again. Will stay in San Anselmo, San Rafael, or try Airbnb. But if you are in Fairfax or West Marin for a city get-away, or club show in the delightfully, funky ,recovering Hippie town that is Fairfax this is a fine location .

We ate breakfast at the coffee shop as we did 20 years ago, 2 grocery stores nearby, some upscale dining available for dinner which we enjoyed, and less upscale available too. 4 nightclubs in town, I guess that's why you'd be here.

Inn - average, hospitality- low.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cambio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfax
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
24.9 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
San Anselmo Inn
San Anselmo Inn
#1 of 1 in San Anselmo
102 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marin Lodge
Marin Lodge
#1 of 8 in San Rafael
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfax Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Broadway Blvd, Fairfax, CA 94930-1622
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Fairfax
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfax
Price Range: $196 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfax Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfax Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing