We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ask for quiet room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Encinitas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ask for quiet room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had to change rooms, the first one was very loud with traffic noise. Once moved, the room was pleasant enough. Bed was comfortable with nice linens, a large bathroom with tub/shower. Microwave & refrig in room is always nice. Had to laugh, though.....the sign on the bathroom sink had a "Save the Planet - everyday millions of gallons of water are used to wash towels that have only been used once, etc....." well, the irony of that sign is that it took literally 5 minutes for the water to get hot in the shower! Breakfast included was in a nice atrium room with the usual waffles, oatmeal, etc. Better than some! Good enough hotel for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    37
    15
    12
See reviews for
47
56
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 737 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Decent place if you're just overnighting. I wouldn't want to hang out here. With it's sketchy neighborhood and direct location on the highway, I am astonished that they charge you to use the safe!!

Pros:
The hotel is dog friendly.
It's walking distance to the new Target.
Nice breakfast in the a.m. with boiled eggs and the usual carbs.
Front desk guy had great restaurant tips (e.g. Bless My Soul cafe)

Cons:
Dirty, run down exterior
Surrounding neighborhood is sketchy with broken down vehicles (a concern for the final potty walk with your dog)
They charge $1.50 to use the safe!!
Right off the 101 exit ramp so it's quite noisy.
Hair found in the bath tub and in the folded towels...ewww.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street! The hotel is right off the 101 exit ramp...you exit the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WISCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on my 7 week road trip across Canada & the U.S.
Wound up here quite by accident because earlier on in the evening I had checked into the local KOA campgrounds only to have a defective smoke alarm in my cabin keep me awake! So it was fate that brought me here in the middle of the night dog tired and in desperate need of a warm bed and SLEEP! They must have felt sorry for me at the front desk after hearing my story because they gave me a discount on the room! And the room was like heaven compared to where I had just come from...huge comfortable bed with cable TV and modern clean bathroom with tub & shower that washed away all my problems. By the time I got into bed it was 4:30 a.m. so I decided then and there to stay a second night before heading further South. Next morning I had a great breakfast in their spacious on site facility...lots of modern clean tables & chairs with sunlight coming through the windows while you catch up with the latest news on the wall mounted LCD TV. This place has more than one parking lot so the next morning I moved my car to a spot directly outside my room and left it there while I walked into the old part of town. Lots of historical buildings to see here and one in particular drew me in like a fly to honey! I seem to have this uncanny ability to sniff out foods that make me feel warm & fuzzy all over and Bon Boniere Ice Cream definitely recharged my batteries big time...even took a picture before I dug in! In the end what started out as a crappy night eventually turned into one of the better nights of my trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great stay here. The staff was friendly. They offer a hot breakfast every morning and a light meal in the evenings, very nice.The rooms were clean and spacious. We enjoyed our trip to the Redwoods. The hotel is easy to find and in a good location there is a target within walking distance. The only downfall is the indoor pool is not in the main building so it was a little chilly was back from the pool, but still a great place. We would stay here again if we are ever visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MissouriFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manteca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was bummed that my favorite hotel, Best Western, Bayshore Inn was booked for the weekend so I had a choice between Comfort Inn (south of Eureka) or Clarion (north of Eureka), based on the reviews between the two, as well as convenience (I wanted to be closer to Old Town where my daughter lives), I opted for Clarion. No complaints here, the manager was very friendly and accommodating, and the room seemed nice enough. The bed was perfect, very comfortable and the tub was big so I took nice hot baths. Although the hotel appeared to be kinda run-down but it was adequate for a busy weekend in Eureka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We got a second floor room in the hotel that faced towards a side street near the front of the hotel. The exterior of the hotel shows a lot of wear. There are cracks, unkept stairways, etc. The neighborhood is right on the edge of a poorer looking area.

Our room was pretty tiny. The small table could only be accessed by climbing into a chair the is wedged in next to it. The bed was crazy. If you even touched the side of it the bed would fall off the base frame and sink on one side. It was so bad with the close quarters that we had to forbid our kids from even sitting on one of the beds.

The breakfast was edible but barely. My kids liked the waffles. The staff that served the breakfast was not at all friendly. A gal running the place got on my wife for trying to get some milk from a nearby storeroom. She did not see it on the counter. The woman took real offense and did not handle it well at all.

One morning there were beer cans on the rail outside of our room...my wife and I had one reaction...no surprise at all...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFromSantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is a dump. We wanted a pet friendly room for our 10# dog. The room they gave us had multiple urine stains that smelled fresh. The room smelled bad. When I asked to switch rooms,Nathan, the manager said they were completely booked and he could not refund our money. Since he was Labor day weekend we could not get a room close by. The following morning, the hotel ran out of food by 9 am and the girl working the breakfast area was rude and said there was nothing she could do. The holiday rate of $160 per night was way out of line for such poor quality.

Room Tip: I would stay any where as long as it wasn't here. This was my all time worst hotel experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#9 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.7 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay

Property: Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay
Address: 2223 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0820 (Formerly Clarion Eureka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a smaller Clarion Hotel on the North Coast of California. We have a warm friendly staff with a very homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing