We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“BARELY Marginal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BARELY Marginal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We got a second floor room in the hotel that faced towards a side street near the front of the hotel. The exterior of the hotel shows a lot of wear. There are cracks, unkept stairways, etc. The neighborhood is right on the edge of a poorer looking area.

Our room was pretty tiny. The small table could only be accessed by climbing into a chair the is wedged in next to it. The bed was crazy. If you even touched the side of it the bed would fall off the base frame and sink on one side. It was so bad with the close quarters that we had to forbid our kids from even sitting on one of the beds.

The breakfast was edible but barely. My kids liked the waffles. The staff that served the breakfast was not at all friendly. A gal running the place got on my wife for trying to get some milk from a nearby storeroom. She did not see it on the counter. The woman took real offense and did not handle it well at all.

One morning there were beer cans on the rail outside of our room...my wife and I had one reaction...no surprise at all...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFromSantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    43
    17
    13
See reviews for
50
65
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is a dump. We wanted a pet friendly room for our 10# dog. The room they gave us had multiple urine stains that smelled fresh. The room smelled bad. When I asked to switch rooms,Nathan, the manager said they were completely booked and he could not refund our money. Since he was Labor day weekend we could not get a room close by. The following morning, the hotel ran out of food by 9 am and the girl working the breakfast area was rude and said there was nothing she could do. The holiday rate of $160 per night was way out of line for such poor quality.

Room Tip: I would stay any where as long as it wasn't here. This was my all time worst hotel experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The motel had friendly staff and the breakfast area was large with a nice breakfast being served. When we arrived, we were told that soup and salad was available at no charge for a light evening meal. Both were very good. The room was clean, however, some work needed to be done on the place. The door to the room was very unattractive, scuffed up and dirty looking. We had a descent stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBirdsWeAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel on our way up the coast. It was an okay place to stay. We stayed on the ground floor, so we were able to park right outside our door and easily unload out luggage. Our room had a bit of a musty smell, so we opened the door and window to help air it out. Breakfast included as well as an evening snack (which we passed up).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cool-son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we had 4 separate rooms reserved. Upon check in, I was put in a room on the 3rd floor and the other 3 rooms were on the 1st floor... we had called 2 months in advance to reserve the rooms all being together, so this was not acceptable. The ad for the Clarion reads "3:00pm Check in time guaranteed" but we had to wait for our rooms to be cleaned (not long... but still a wait). when I got into my room there was still old left over food in the fridge and some sort of crusty like "substance" dried on the television remote (I do NOT even want to know what it was) I took the food and remote to the front desk clerk who personally cleaned the remote and taped it back together again for the back was coming off. The curtains were ripped. We always check hotel beds for bugs... they were clean and clear... but the bedding was very old and worn out. The air conditioner would not adjust up or down. Indoor pool was nice! but very few tiny towels available. Some of us had to go without and make a fast run across the parking lot to the room to dry off. The printed information in the room ie: television channels list etc. were old and crumpled. The front desk man made a comment regarding "sending one of there most attractive housekeepers to the room" and another about "liking wild women", I am sure he was just trying to be social and fun... but it was inappropriate and not to be rude but there was no attractive staff...but that would not matter... efficiency and friendliness are what bring people back. The charge for the room safe is a little ridiculous! BE SURE TO HAVE THEM REMOVE THAT CHARGE at check out time.
on a positive note: the bathroom was roomy and nice, lots of hot water, the breakfast was a very nice addition. waffles, sausage, cereal, fruit, biscuit and gravy, juices... there was an attendant who was very efficient and kind about keeping everything cleaned and stocked. The hotel was close to other attractions in the town. I would say it was a little pricey for what you get... but all in all it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: if you don't use the safe, be sure they remove the charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4worldtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Ridge UT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First let me start by saying this was the 4th hotel we've stayed in over our vacation so far. The last 2 nights have been garbage so this was a very nice change....weekend summer on the coast, everything was booked so we paid a hefty price for this hotel but it was worth it!

Upon arrival, front desk clerk super friendly and helpful! We had called ahead requesting rooms with 2 queens which was good because the hotel was full.

The bed was soft and comfy, clean room, a little dated but nice. Lots of channels for tv, which made my tired kids happy! We used the laundry facilities which were reasonably priced and clean! We had a fridge and microwave which is always nice. Breakfast was really surprising! Waffles, sausage, biscuits, fruit, boiled eggs, muffins and breads. Not gourmet but definitely much more than most! Lots of seating and attendant to keep things full and tables cleaned.

When checking out we asked if they had a Place to refill our water bottles, front desk lady went out if her way to accommodate us! Thank you thank you!

This is an area with few nice accommodations at ridiculous resort prices so be prepared to spend more for decent lodging.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvrdull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaghomeva@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for one night traveling from central CA to eastern OR, taking the beach route. Found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Indoor pool was very popular with the kids, after a long day in the car. Internet signal was strong, and morning breakfast was complete and very tasty. Didn't notice any of the concerns presented in prior reviews that were posted here. Outside is showing a little age, but I understand that, having lived in a beach community for many years. My main concern was the room condition, which was very good. A couple of items to mention to management. The automatic safe charge is a bad idea. I didn't get charged as I mentioned it at check-out, but I only knew to do this as I read the registration card completely. Also, not sure if a fridge and microwave are standard for Clarion Inns, but I was very surprised not to have one in our room. Would have been very handy, since I was traveling with kids. Still, overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you are going to use the pool, as for a room near this part of the property. It gets very cool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaghomeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.7 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay

Property: Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay
Address: 2223 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0820 (Formerly Clarion Eureka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a smaller Clarion Hotel on the North Coast of California. We have a warm friendly staff with a very homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel By Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing