We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Full Service Hotel on the Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Broadway Street, Eureka, CA 95503-3810   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Victor, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Full Service Hotel on the Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

In Eureka to see family. Booked the Best Western Bayshore Inn for 2 nights. Family said we should go somewhere else. Always believed Best Western tries to do a good job so we stayed there anyway. What a treat! Rooms were big, very clean, soundproofed and amenity rich. Felt like the room was just finished as it still had the "new car" smell. We stayed in the Garden side of the motel and overlooked the garden and spa. But, it was very quiet even with the fact that there many children staying there. Breakfast was good and adequate. Front desk was quick, efficient, and pleasant. We would recommend this hotel for families and business travelers. It sits next to the large shopping mall which makes shopping even easier. We were not fond of the Marie Calendar's restaurant which sits on the same property. Service was slow, apathetic and expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden side of the hotel. It's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your response about your stay at our Inn here in Eureka, Ca.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and
we look forward to seeing you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    388
    110
    24
    30
See reviews for
366
460
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Absolutely incredible. Staff went above and beyond for us, assisting us with computer/business/faxing issues, and even let me play the piano in the lobby. The room was clean, comfortable and more than enough space for an incredible value. Beds were some of the best sleeps we had on our road trip. The pool area was nicer than some 5 star hotels I've stayed at, and had a hot tub, sauna, and fitness area. Breakfast was hot and delicious. If you're passing through the area and need a place to stay, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write to our property and let me know about your stay. I am glad you had such a wonderful experience, We look foward to providing you with your future lodging needs.

Emily Manfredonia GM
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I just recently stayed at the Best Western Bayshore for the second time.
I have held events in their conference room as well.
This staff is absolutely wonderful. The front desk staff could not have been more accommodating to my needs. My supplies did not arrive on time and the staff quickly came to my rescue.
I would stay here again and again and highly recommend it to my colleagues when they travel in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay on trip Advisor this helps other future guests see what a great hotel we have. I look foward serving you with your future lodging needs.

Sincerley,

Emily Manfredonia GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My family (2 adults 2 children) stayed here in a double queen room for a couple of nights while we were visiting the redwoods. The staff was very friendly and professional and the breakfast was very good compared to a typical continental breakfast. The room (double queen) was clean and comfortable. The beds were also soft and comfortable. I only had two complaints making this a 4 dot review instead of the full 5 dots. The first was that the pool was very cold, to the point of it being uncomfortable for the kids and me. The second was the encouragement of smoking near the rooms by putting cigarette receptacles on the balcony outside the room. Every time we would open the room door smoke would billow in and smell up the room. Overall it was a nice place to stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_SLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay on trip Advisor this helps other future guests see what a great hotel we have. I look foward serving you with your future lodging needs.

Sincerley,

Emily Manfredonia GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had the two bedroom "suite" as we were travelling with my elderly father. Rooms were very clean but bathroom set-up awkward. The sink is open to the main bedroom and second bedroom user must trek past the bed to use the bathroom. Doesn't really work. Very pet friendly, supplied dog dinner and treats and bags, but no bed, and had a green space to take dog out. Unfortunately many ignorant dog owners hadn't used bags supplied and navigating the green space was tricky. Biggest complaint, and major for me, overuse of some deodorizer used in laundering? or otherwise? some febreeze type disgusting smell. For anyone even slightly sensitive to fragrance - a killer!!! Also someone was using a washing machine quite late in the evening so room was quite noisy. Once it stopped had a good sleep on very comfortable beds (using my own pillows).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay on trip Advisor this helps other future guests see what a great hotel we have. I look foward serving you with your future lodging needs.

Sincerley,

Emily Manfredonia GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The king bed is comfortable. Don't get the roll away bed, you can feel the springs and does not support. At 3 in the morning an obnoxious drunk pounded on the door! Saying, "Open the door! Open the door!" I chased the kids to the corner and yelled "Who is it?" The drunk said, "Open the door, or I will kick the FUDGING door in!" I called the front desk and sent security. The drunk found his way home above us, stumbling, while his DOGS ran around. I called the desk again and then said the man was drunk and mistakened our room for his. Then if that is not enough, he decided to use the jacuzzi from 3-4 AM! Terrible. The children were fearful and crying, and shaking. For all this trouble, they gave us $35 off the bill and said there was nothing else they can do, but we can call the best western office.

Room Tip: If a drunk knocks on your door call the police not the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 2Christine777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write us and let us now about your experience at our Inn. I am so sorry that this occured during your stay, usually these kind of things don't take place at our Inn, and it is very unfortunate that it did during your stay. I have taken extra measures to make sure that my staff is better prepared to handle situations like this should they occur again.

Sincerley,

Emily Manfredonia GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed at this motel many times, more than 5. I was pleased each time by the value for the quality of service. This time I was taking my uncle, who is 88, we were visiting family. I decided to upgrade to a 2 room "suite". The 2 room suite is 2 cheap rooms, one bathroom and an adjoining door. There was no place to sit and watch tv, there was no advantage over not booking 2 rooms except for the disadvantage of having one bathroom and having to disturb the other party in the middle of the night to use the bathroom.

My uncle woke up a few times and had to stumble through my room to find the bathroom in the dark. Then the poor man was woken up in the middle of the night by the alarm going off on the clock radio and he could not get it turned off, he did not want to wake me, so he struggled with it in the dark. He was exhausted the next day. Not what I expected when I decided to "treat" him to a vacation and paid the extra dollars to do so.

When I went to check out the next morning, I tried to explain this to the woman at the desk who really didn't care, there were other people and I was basically ignored.

For all this I paid nearly $200 for one night. Really????

I always stayed at this place when I visited Eureka as I do several times a year. I have recommended this place to many people. But this one is totally off my list and I am so sorry to have ruined my uncle's special family visit staying here and embarrassed to have spent so much money to do so.

If anyone is planning on having a "suite", this is not the place. But live and learn, next time I look for a suite I will ask it its just 2 cheap room and a shared bathroom.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask when booking a suite that it is actually that, it may save you from a ruined vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymbayshore, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write to me and let me know how your stay at our Inn was. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. If you would like you to try our Hospitality again, I would like to offer you a 25 % discount. Please print this out and give it to my desk clerk at checkin.

Sincerley,

Emily Manfredonia GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eureka
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
2.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#3 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Address: 3500 Broadway Street, Eureka, CA 95503-3810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#2 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn we have all of our travelers needs in mind, we offer free wifi all rooms,and dsl in some rooms, free breakfast buffett, indoor/outdoor pool and spa, guest laudry and fitness center onsite. We have two restraunts onsite Shamus T Bones steakhouse also offering fresh sefood and a wide variety of bbq steaks ribs etc. We also have Marie Calenders restraunt onsite serving up yummy pies and homestyle comfort foods. Come in and relax in one of our many suites available. Extra ammenities also provided at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayshore Hotel Eureka
Best Western Bayshore Hotel
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing