We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
323 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I've stay here several times on business the past few years. Rooms are always clean, the staff is always friendly, the breakfast buffet is always good. It's typically an inconvenient walk from the front desk, and if you're far away, you also typically have to haul your luggage up a half flight of stairs. And it looks tired. I've tried a couple of other hotels, and have regretted it, so unless something new opens up (unlikely), I'll probably keep coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott95401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Greetings Scott95401,

Thank you for your review. We would love to improve upon your experience and win your loyalty! Please let our front desk staff know you would like to be closer to the front desk and we will gladly accommodate you as best we can. We are very grateful for your business and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    166
    127
    62
    46
See reviews for
156
149
46
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel restaurant does not have pool tables or the dining area betrayed online. Restaurant appears to be 1/3 of the size betrayed online. Restaurant staff was short in temper, and cook could not properly prepare a medium rare ribeye. Very dissatisfied, will not ever return for this bad experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello Alice S,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced when you stayed with us. I will perform an online audit to be sure that the pictures and descriptions are accurate. If at all possible we would like to serve you again and improve upon your last experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
164 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The room was very quiet and relaxing. Staff was professional. The area and the view were not very nice but the hotel made up for it. I would highly recommend it based on our experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank terrysavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Terrysavage,

Thank you for your kind review. I hope that your trip was pleasant and that you returned home safely. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The room that was assigned to us had a strong odor and had equipment specifically for the disabled. this was not a regular room as expected. The front desk agent informed us that the reason we got this room assigned to us is because we went through hotwire which automatically gets these rooms because they are lower rate than the normal rooms. Very disappointing as that was not communicated/expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Marwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. I apologize that the room you received was not what was desired. My team and I always work to make every stay as perfect for the guest as we can. I hope that we will have a chance to serve you gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent trip & Red Lion accommodations exceptional. I was referred by a tour guide that took us to Yosemite that i should stay in your hotel & he was right. I was an easy decision & the right one - thanks again.
Robert

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank robertkanedrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello robertkanedrs,

Thank you for your kind review. I hope you were able to enjoy the Redwoods while you were here. Yosemite and the Redwoods are two of California's most beautiful attractions. Thank you for your business and we hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Room was not ready when we arrived at 5pm. The 2-room king/queen room was large, but smelled old & musty. The queen room has no window & no ventilation or fan, very stuffy. We found leftover food in our fridge from the last guest, brought it to staffs attention, they said,"oh sorry."

The a/c unit from the room above leaked on to our unit, causing loud dripping. Annoying. Staff fixed with a towel & was fairly quik about it. The key card slide on the security door next to our room only worked occasionally, I informed staff but never got fix.

They hotel really need a full remodel, including sound proofing the rooms & hallway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Garet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry about the issues you experienced while staying with us. I can see that it must have been frustrating. This is not our standard and we are working to correct all the issues you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we have an opportunity to give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Pretty clean and I'm happy that they accommodated us with short notice.
Pro: friendly staff. 2 sinks in bathroom.
Spacious room.
Con: very poor WiFi. Refrigerator didn't work.
Breakfast is NOT an option if you book with AAA.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Dawn H,

Thank you for your review. I will perform a review of our Wi-Fi to ensure that all rooms are receiving equal strength. I will also ensure the refrigerator is repaired. I apologize that these items were not addressed during your stay. I thank you for your business and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Property: Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing