We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
A TripAdvisor Member
“clean but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel was clean however is dated. Annoyed that breakfast was only til 9 on weekdays. also you only get 2 adults included in rate, does not include any kids. Overall clean which is most important, average hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    161
    124
    59
    44
See reviews for
151
142
41
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Red Lion has everything I like and need n a hotel: 1) comfortable beds, 2) soft pillows, 3) spacious room, 4) a bath (that becomes a shower if required), 5) free internet, 6) a table to put my stuff on, 7) plenty of shelf space in the bathroom for my toiletries, 9 fridge, and MOST IMPORTANTLY, 10) DOG FRIENDLY!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank philippakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is an older hotel but the staff was friendly the room was clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The heater/AC unit worked we but was a bit loud. There is plenty nearby to do so the location of this hotel is very convenient and easy to get to.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveler1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Even with construction, example the elevator was down. The staff was more then accommodating helped with bags to room and plenty of smiles. Beakfast was resonably priced and very tasty. Had a wonderful stay, will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissChris38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rooms are large and well layed out with a bed that is SUPER COMFORTABLE! The staff was very friendly and the dog friendly attitude is apparent throughout the hotel. Delicious brekfast for a reasonable price and I liked the environmentally friendly ammenities. I will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My stay at the Red Lion hotel was alsome! The guy at the front desk I belive he was the manager or general manager was so helpful! he was very patient and give me and my husband the best price for our stay! I honestly tried to office this guy a job at my current company he had the best customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Trivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The lobby elevator was being worked on and was not in operation. The garden elevator was working.

I explained to your clerk that my wife had a mobility problem (bad ankle). Stairs are a problem for her. He put us on the 2nd floor at least 50 yds down from the garden elevator, insisting that it was no better for my wife than climbing the stairs at the lobby. There are only 5 steps up to the Garden Elevator from the Ground Floor. There were no rooms available on the first floor due to re-carpeting. HOWEVER - there were rooms available near the garden elevator.

Your clerk also made it clear to me that we would have to pay for our breakfast. The Red Lion in Medford, OR gave us a free breakfast without any problem.

Given the mess created by all of the renovation going on, your organization should have been giving a free breakfast to every guest willing to climb the stairs

I made my reservation via Hotwire - which is the ONLY reason I decided to stay at all. The charge for the room was non-refundable.

There are 3 Best Western motels in the Eureka area. I will go there next time.

I promise not to use Hotwire in Eureka again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Father David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you a room on the first floor for your stay. We make every attempt to ensure that requests are met and thanks to your comments, we will be working with our front desk staff on this as well.
We do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Property: Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing