We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in convenient location to HSU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We tried booking a hotel in Arcata for HSU move-in date, but they were all sold out, so we stayed at the north end of Eureka at Red Lion. We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Room was extra spacious, bed was very comfy and plenty of parking. It was nice to have a sink outside the bathroom, so you could continue with make-up/brushing teeth while someone else was in the bathroom. Room had a fridge and coffee maker. We requested a quiet room and they gave us a room on the top (3rd) floor. The rooms on the backside of the hotel don't have a balcony, but they have a large window overlooking the bay. Rooms on front side have balcony which overlooks the street and parking lot, so backside of hotel is better for us. All staff was friendly. Our rate included breakfast, which was nothing special and I wouldn't pay extra for it, but it was included in the government rate. Not sure about regular room prices, as we booked under state government rate, which was good. We'll stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on backside of hotel are quieter and overlook bay. Rooms on front side have balcony but overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honufore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 625 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Serviceable lodging in a town with few options. Property a little tired, but room clean enough. Skip the onsite restaurant as many better options a few blocks into town. Has a serviceable gym and a small pool.
Front desk staff was fine. Price probably slightly high in a market like Eureka but not bad.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and each time it looks like it's not been cleaned since the time before. It's hard to imagine a management team looking at these rooms and deciding they are clean enough. I thought about taking pictures but they are just too gross. There is mold under the shower knobs, in the grout, the windows haven't been touched in a long time. The white cloth shower curtain was filthy and there are cigarette butts all over the outside, just outside the sliding door. It's not just a little dirty. The room smells bad and you could walk in blind and know they don't care about cleanliness. The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one is because they accept dogs and even they go on nasty smell sensory overload. I wonder how inept a management team has to be to not notice this stuff. Seriously, stay away from this dump.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent three days here with a motorcycle group, and loved the place. Every single member of the staff greeted us, even the housekeepers. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Our room was spacious and clean, with fridge and microwave. The bed was comfortable. It was nice to have a wash basin in the bathroom and another one outside.
The hotel allows dogs.

The main elevator is by the lobby then there is another one halfway down the corridor but that one doesn't go to the level where the parking lot it. It stops both above, and below, so you have to go down the the basement, walk to the end of the corridor then back along the sidewalk.

I had problems with getting my iPad to access the wifi. It was very spotty. The girl at the front desk was helpful.

The restaurant and bar staff were extremely customer service oriented although the waitress at breakfast seemed beyond frazzled. The breakfast buffet (paid, not complimentary) was excellent. There is a Subway right across the street from the hotel, and Target is in easy walking distance.

When staying here, you have to take a walking tour of the downtown area. It's not far away and the old houses are simply gorgeous.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I would book again but a few problems were quickly resolved. Our original room was suppose to be nonsmoking. It smelled heavily of smoke. They quickly change rooms to a clean, smoke-free room. Hint- DO NOT let them book you in the room across from the elevators. It's also located next to housekeeping and its very noisey. The room was very nice, clean and well appointed.The bathroom was clean and nice-good toiletries. You can judge a lot about a room by the bathroom don't you think? Couldn't hear too much highway traffic. This is Eureka so GO OUT for dinner. I wasn't satisfied at all with my dinner in their restaurant. Good service, bad dinner food, "rest-home atmosphere. The breakfast, however, was excellent. I highly recommend paying extra for the breakfast buffet. Great food, lots of variety.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the breakfast buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was very stressed about hosting my grandmother in Eureka. We reserved a room for people with disabilities. My grandmother loved the shower as it has a seat where one can sit and relax under the water. There were also adequate hand rails. We loved our stay except for California's rigid laws on not smoking near the building. We were out in the rain when she wanted a smoke. We felt it was the best customer service and most comfortable stay in Eureka!

Room Tip: Take the time to find the room that suits you~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0cal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean but in some of the rooms the a/c didn't work properly (luckily mine did). The food was mediocre. I wouldn't recommend a long stay at this hotel. Luckily, the scenery on the coast was beautiful so I didn't mind spending the night here.
That being said, the Red Lion Inn in Coos Bay was much better than this Red Lion Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtoothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 21 in Eureka
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range: $104 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing