We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Is Not Necessarily Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed June 23, 2014

As Comfort Inns go this one is pretty average. Nothing bad about it, but nothing outstanding either. They don"t have an elevator to the second floor which isn't a deal breaker for us but might be for you. The in room refrigerator buzzed so we unplugged it. Beds and pillows were a plus here. The room was decent sized and clean. The sink and bathroom are separate a feature we appreciate. The view is of the small parking lot, an empty lot next door and the highway, but we didn't stay here for the view. Breakfast area is small and crowded. Breakfast selection is modest. Eureka is not loaded with great options and most of them are situated between the two busy one-way streets that go through town, so if you are just passing through town this is a better option than any of those in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Jim W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Eureka! We hope to see you in future trips to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very happy with the room. All the amenities expected of this chain.
Location. Close to the highway and the Mall
Reception. Afternoon guy was nice, morning gal was grouchy and vacuuming around me as I was waiting in the lobby. Can't she do that when there is no one there? Gave us an extra hour to check out. Found I had lost all my points. If you don’t use them within the year they are gone! Don’t like that! Also they had a promotion, but you have to go on the internet before you book the room! They really make it difficult to get the points but get the publicity without delivering
Breakfast-good
Room-Large comfy 2 queen beds
Light for reading –Good
Bed –Comfortable lots of pillows
Air Conditioning-Heater-Noisy but good
Wi-Fi- Good
TV- Nice modern
Refrigerator-Good not too noisy
Room for bags- Plenty
Tea Kettle or coffee maker-Yes
Bathroom-Very large separate shower and toilet from sink
Shower pressure- Not great but hand held helped
Cloths line-no
Safety bar in bathroom-Got the handicapped room so plenty
Towels-Nice and clean
Amenities –Normal chain
Hair dryer-Wall
Full length mirror-Yes
Makeup mirror -No
Parking -Free
Laundry-No self-serve
Iron and ironing board-Yes
Complimentary bottle water. No California tap water s good to drink.
Plugs-Lots and convenient

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Starviagera,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We hope to see you again in future trips to the area.

-Brandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The motel has insufficient parking and I'm sure they know it and can't do much about it. If you have a big rig you will be hard pressed to pull around in this lot. The room smelled of perfume and the hallways had pungent smell other then that check in was flawless an the pillow selection at comfort inn was great. Beds are hard which my wife loves but I don't. Place was clean and quite. Could have had a better tv selection I noticed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear woodsfamily,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We strive to make each stay better than the last and hope to have the chance to improve your opinion the next time you come through the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

If you're not in the mood to stay in a motel, this is probably your best bet. But be forewarned, there is no elevator, so if you have trouble handling stairs, make sure to ask for a room on the first floor. The rooms were clean and quiet, but to be honest, we stayed here because there was really nothing better in Eureka.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank TheBigMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear TheBigMuffin,

We are so happy you chose to stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Eureka! We hope to have filled all your needs for the night! We hope that you chose to stay with us again in your future trips through the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Really good place with clean rooms, good facilities and friendly staff. The breakfast was superb, especially considering the room rate. Will certainly recommend this to others. Staff very helpful with directions

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiggle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Wiggle59,

I am so pleased to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable! I hope in any future trips to the states you choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Comfortable bed and pillows with different levels of firmness. Clean room. Nice hot breakfast and 1/2 the price of other hotels in the town. Front desk staff (Donavin) was courteous and took care of us. Room was spacious and quiet

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Gail V,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Eureka. We hope to see you again in your future trips through the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I have traveled to Eureka a few times and love staying at this hotel. I have tried another hotel but wanted to check out and check back in to comfort inn. They staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is awesome. And for the price you get a clean room, friendly staff and it doesn't hurt your wallet. It's right down their street from the mall and some nice restaurants and other fast food eateries. I work for them hotel industry so I'm on high alert when it comes to my stay and I can't say one bad thing about this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sagittariusgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Sagittariusgurl,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay. We are so happy to hear your stays are as enjoyable each time as the last and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 21 in Eureka
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay

Address: 4260 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503 (Formerly Comfort Inn Eureka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range: $105 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay Hotel near Humboldt State University, a Eureka CA HotelThe 100 percent smoke free Comfort Inn® Humboldt Bay is ideally located just minutes from the Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt State University and College of the Redwoods. Humboldt Bay offers a beautiful locale for boating and bird watching. Woodley Island Marina is the largest marina on the bay, and offers boat rentals and lessons. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of one of the most striking ecological niches in the United States.This Eureka, CA hotel is near the Redwood National and State Parks. Our region attracts nature-lovers from around the world and is home to the world's tallest trees, the must-see giant old-growth redwoods that can live to be 2,000 years old and reach 300 feet in height. To the south of the hotel is the famous Avenue of the Giants and the beautiful 'lost' California coastline.Located on the southern edge of Eureka, our hotel is conveniently located close to great shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Victorian period architecture of the Old Town Eureka historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing