We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

As expected, this is a typical motel, but its immediately clear from entering the premises that its maintained to a high standard and everything is spotless. Arriving mid-afternoon I witnessed two ladies on hands and knees scrubbing the floor of the breakfast room with vigor! The breakfast area is on the small side, but parking is good, rooms are well appointed and comfortable, the staff are friendly and the fitness room and pool are good. Although located a short drive from the Old Town, there is a mall close by and a "Shamus T Bone" eatery which is excellent. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamorgan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear bamorgan87,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay in Eureka, CA! We do take pride in the appearance of our hotel inside and out and I am so happy to hear that it shows. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    67
    44
    12
    19
See reviews for
68
73
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn. The room was clean and spacious, staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good though typical of a hotel complimentary breakfast. Internet was fairly quick. There is no elevator at this hotel which was not a problem for us but is something to be aware of. Although the hotel is close to the highway we found the room to be very quiet with little noise interrupting our stay. I would recommend this hotel as a fairly priced no frills hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosiergal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Hoosiergal71,


I am very pleased to hear your stay with us was as enjoyable as you had hoped. We take pride in our hotels cleanliness and our staff and I am so happy to know it is paying off. We hope to see you again in your future trips through Eureka, CA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room is clean and spacious. The beds are comfortable. The breakfast is excellent. The staff is helpful. The internet service is plenty fast and reliable. You will find cheaper hotels in the area but you won't get more for your money. The hotel is located directly on US 101 just south of Eureka. If you want to be in the middle of downtown Eureka, this isn't your place. But the drive to downtown isn't far and the quality of the hotel is worth the short drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear albwilson,

I am so happy to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to see you and the Bridge Group again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We checked in here after a bad experience at the Redwood Riverwalk Hotel in nearby Fortuna (see review).
We found the rooms to be quiet, clean and comfortable and didn't mind the short drive to downtown and the lovely boardwalk where we enjoyed the sunset.
Breakfast in the morning was fine with good coffee. The breakfast room was crowded and rather hot.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oli_C-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Oli_C-23,


I am sorry to hear your experience at the Redwood was less than desirable, but so glad that you chose to stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay! We take pride in our hotel and strive to make each guests stay as best as can be. We are glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast as well! Unfortunately, the breakfast room does get a little crowded at the peak breakfast time and with all the extra bodies as well as the heat from the oven it does get hot. We try to keep the temperature down by leaving our lobby doors open, the fan on and a window in the breakfast room open also. We hope you chose to stay here with us again on your next trip through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
767 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff was pleasant, the room was very clean, and the price was reasonable. It is a small place, with no elevator, so if stairs are a challenge, ask for the first floor. The breakfast was fine and the coffee was good. It is a no-frills place, but you get what you pay for. It is not nearly walking distance from the historic downtown, but most people coming to Eureka have driven anyway. It's just an average hotel in a city with few hotel options.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear RichardinOhio,

I am glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay. We are a very small hotel. Only two stories and only 48 units. We take pride in the appearance of our hotel inside and out so it is humbling to know it is paying off. Unfortunately, we are pretty far from the downtown/old town area, approximately 2.5 miles. Sometimes that can be nice because it ends up being much quieter here, but it can also be a problem for people who have been driving all day and don't wish to drive anywhere for dinner and just want to walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel while on the road for a night stay during our road trip and very pleased at the accommodations. It was quiet and updated with a great Chinese restaurant next door with a one minute walk from the hotel. The staff was super helpful and knowledgeable with our travel questions. A bit disconcerting was a rundown housing unit directly next to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Marie C,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay in Eureka, CA! We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you come through Eureka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'll start by saying the super nice desk clerk at one of the (sold out) Best Westerns in town referred us here. As most who have been through Eureka in the summer know, it can be tough getting a room and in fact we got the last room at the Comfort Inn so we would have been happy with a bed and hot water. This is SO much more. For the money and location this is a GREAT option! Clean Quiet and reasonable. Round Table Pizza delivery is another bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Steve C,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay in Eureka, CA! We hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to Eureka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Eureka CA
Days Inn Eureka CA
#11 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Address: 4260 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503-5738 (Formerly Comfort Inn Eureka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay Hotel near Humboldt State University, a Eureka CA HotelThe 100 percent smoke free Comfort Inn® Humboldt Bay is ideally located just minutes from the Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt State University and College of the Redwoods. Humboldt Bay offers a beautiful locale for boating and bird watching. Woodley Island Marina is the largest marina on the bay, and offers boat rentals and lessons. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of one of the most striking ecological niches in the United States.This Eureka, CA hotel is near the Redwood National and State Parks. Our region attracts nature-lovers from around the world and is home to the world's tallest trees, the must-see giant old-growth redwoods that can live to be 2,000 years old and reach 300 feet in height. To the south of the hotel is the famous Avenue of the Giants and the beautiful 'lost' California coastline.Located on the southern edge of Eureka, our hotel is conveniently located close to great shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Victorian period architecture of the Old Town Eureka historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing