We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've stayed in MANY Comfort Inns over the years and this one was just an all around bad experience. I had reserved months in advance and requested a rollaway bed. Upon checking in we were told there were none because they were full. Every question I asked was not answered and the subject was changed. Finally the check in person said they would try to find one at another hotel. When I asked the chances of that happening she said "fine I'll take one from another room". Was this supposed to make me feel guilty? Most hotels will charge $10 for a rollaway, or give it free if you are a loyalty member (we were). But they charged me almost $30 for a rollaway. The pool was decrepit and the room on a slow slide to sub par. Wasn't the worst ever, but certainly far from best. There are other options available and snotty workers and old hotels are not a combination I could ever recommend.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicagofamily2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Chicagofamily2468,

Unfortunately, we do not open reservations until day of arrival, as do many hotels and is stated when the reservation is made if you have notes or requests. Therefore we do not see whether or not you have reserved your room months in advance wanting a rollaway. We have a lot of fire crews staying with us and have been staying with us far earlier than your arrival and they required rollaway beds in the rooms to accommodate their crew. Our rollaway charge is $25 dollars as posted on all 3rd party websites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are NOT many hotels in Eureka and most are old & dumpy. This hotel was very clean, staff was friendly and our room good. Breakfast was tasty too. The only negative thing is the parking is terrible, lots of construction workers with their big work trucks so spaces were tight as well as only a 1 handicap place. All in all a nice place for a 1 or 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear MHSR,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay. We take pride in our hotels appearance indoors and outdoors. As for our parking, I am sorry it was a bit cramped. We have had a lot of construction and fire crews staying in the area lately. Most of the time it is not as cramped as it has been. Also, we do actually have 3 handicap spots, two under our portico and one next to the lobby entrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Clean, modern, better than average in the same category. It's a great deal for the price. it also serve real hot breakfast, not just a few bagels. Just a bit far from Eureka downtown, means you have to drive to the place you want but Eureka is fairly small and it only takes 5-10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imcoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear imcoming,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The office staff seemed to have little concern for the guest and were more wrapped into their own conversations. The breakfst was normal selections, minus a few of options and wasn't maintained, (running out of different foods) and just not keeping a diligent watch on the food items. Acess in the driveway was somewhat small if anyone was exiting and could be rather hazardous turning off of Hwy 101. Rooms were adequate but the Fitness room was small and equipment limited some of which did not work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I guess the place did fulfill everything it posted but somehow I felt let down. Facility not in nice area. Building is old albeit fairly well kept up. The outside door said you needed your card to enter but it pulled right open without it. Because it is by the coast I guess they can charge a higher price than it is really worth. We are traveling across country & back - so far this is the 2nd highest price we've paid for a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Janel D,

Unfortunately, the area of our hotel is out of our control. I am sorry it did not meet your standards. The outside doors do normally require your room key to enter, we are knowledgeable of the situation and hope to be fixing them soon. As for the rate, our entire area has pretty high rates during the summer months. It is our busiest season and specifically the last couple weeks of July and the first two to three weeks of August the entire area south to Fortuna, and north to Arcata will have similar rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn Eureka. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, and the rates were reasonable. The hotel was built recently, so the rooms are modern. This hotel isn't memorable, but when you're just looking for a clean, comfortable, place to stay, you don't necessarily want something memorable, you want a good place to sleep. This is that place in Eureka.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear AndrewCamp,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! The hotel actually just turned 20 years old earlier this month! We take extreme pride in the cleanliness and appearance of both inside and outside of our hotel, so to have people recognize that and think we are a new building even after all these years means so much to me and my entire staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your future trips to Eureka, Ca!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We needed a pit stop on our drive from the Oregon Coast to San Fran and frankly, we should have stayed elsewhere. The hotel is on a busy highway that you have to cross to get back into Ereka. Although our room was quite roomy and clear , our view overlooked the back of a scary looking restaurant with some poor dog tied up on a chair. The exercise room was beyond tiny and the pool was so small it was a joke. Breakfast was okay - standard fare for a chain hotel. Overall, very average hotel and a place to sleep if you are looking for a quick rest on a long drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Margot81,

I am sorry your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you would have liked. Unfortunately, all the decent hotels in the area are all on the same highway, highway 101. None of our rooms have any sort of view, I am sorry. We can not do much about surrounding businesses, or our hotel location. Our pool is a small indoor pool, the measurements do however meet our minimum requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 21 in Eureka
25 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay

Address: 4260 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503 (Formerly Comfort Inn Eureka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range: $95 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay Hotel near Humboldt State University, a Eureka CA HotelThe 100 percent smoke free Comfort Inn® Humboldt Bay is ideally located just minutes from the Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt State University and College of the Redwoods. Humboldt Bay offers a beautiful locale for boating and bird watching. Woodley Island Marina is the largest marina on the bay, and offers boat rentals and lessons. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of one of the most striking ecological niches in the United States.This Eureka, CA hotel is near the Redwood National and State Parks. Our region attracts nature-lovers from around the world and is home to the world's tallest trees, the must-see giant old-growth redwoods that can live to be 2,000 years old and reach 300 feet in height. To the south of the hotel is the famous Avenue of the Giants and the beautiful 'lost' California coastline.Located on the southern edge of Eureka, our hotel is conveniently located close to great shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Victorian period architecture of the Old Town Eureka historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing