We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Forest Ranch, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The office staff seemed to have little concern for the guest and were more wrapped into their own conversations. The breakfst was normal selections, minus a few of options and wasn't maintained, (running out of different foods) and just not keeping a diligent watch on the food items. Acess in the driveway was somewhat small if anyone was exiting and could be rather hazardous turning off of Hwy 101. Rooms were adequate but the Fitness room was small and equipment limited some of which did not work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    69
    44
    12
    19
See reviews for
70
76
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I guess the place did fulfill everything it posted but somehow I felt let down. Facility not in nice area. Building is old albeit fairly well kept up. The outside door said you needed your card to enter but it pulled right open without it. Because it is by the coast I guess they can charge a higher price than it is really worth. We are traveling across country & back - so far this is the 2nd highest price we've paid for a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Janel D,

Unfortunately, the area of our hotel is out of our control. I am sorry it did not meet your standards. The outside doors do normally require your room key to enter, we are knowledgeable of the situation and hope to be fixing them soon. As for the rate, our entire area has pretty high rates during the summer months. It is our busiest season and specifically the last couple weeks of July and the first two to three weeks of August the entire area south to Fortuna, and north to Arcata will have similar rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn Eureka. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, and the rates were reasonable. The hotel was built recently, so the rooms are modern. This hotel isn't memorable, but when you're just looking for a clean, comfortable, place to stay, you don't necessarily want something memorable, you want a good place to sleep. This is that place in Eureka.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear AndrewCamp,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! The hotel actually just turned 20 years old earlier this month! We take extreme pride in the cleanliness and appearance of both inside and outside of our hotel, so to have people recognize that and think we are a new building even after all these years means so much to me and my entire staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your future trips to Eureka, Ca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We needed a pit stop on our drive from the Oregon Coast to San Fran and frankly, we should have stayed elsewhere. The hotel is on a busy highway that you have to cross to get back into Ereka. Although our room was quite roomy and clear , our view overlooked the back of a scary looking restaurant with some poor dog tied up on a chair. The exercise room was beyond tiny and the pool was so small it was a joke. Breakfast was okay - standard fare for a chain hotel. Overall, very average hotel and a place to sleep if you are looking for a quick rest on a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Margot81,

I am sorry your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you would have liked. Unfortunately, all the decent hotels in the area are all on the same highway, highway 101. None of our rooms have any sort of view, I am sorry. We can not do much about surrounding businesses, or our hotel location. Our pool is a small indoor pool, the measurements do however meet our minimum requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Rooms were average and small. Clerks were not very professional. Checkout clerk had trouble processing our payment at checkout time. We live in town and had stayed overnight so our son could swim for his birthday. I left my fairly expensive cologne on the sink at checkout time. We only live 2 miles away. Called when I got home and told clerk I had left my cologne in room. She told me it was not in room and that doors are left open when housekeeping is cleaning and someone may have come in and taken it. Said she would check and get back to us but never did. Don't leave anything in your room if you expect to see it again. Was very disappointed with the way this matter was handled. Very cold and unapologetic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Don B,

I am sorry to hear your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have liked. Unfortunately, when I came in on Monday morning to find the note about your missing cologne we were still unable to find it. I am sorry I did not get back to you, I was out most of the week sick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Henderson, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We're Staying at the Comfort Inn in question right now and I can tell you there are NO nasty smells at all. We have stayed at several Comfort Inns recently because we are retired and traveling across country. The Comfort Inns in Tulare and Merced CA were horrible ( to be reviewed at a later date) BUT there is nothing wrong with THIS one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iamsleepy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear iamsleepy1,

Thank you so much for your review! It means a lot that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you chose Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay on your next trip to Eureka, CA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

First impression: "What's that smell!?" Yes, human excrement from the RV dump not 30 yards from the hotel entrance. For $6 a full load can be discharged for the hotel guests' enjoyment.

If you do have the misfortune to choose this "choice" hotel (pun fully intended) just make sure the room is at the back, that the forecast calls for strong on-shore winds and remember to not inhale on entry, exit or when walking between the breakfast area and the accommodation corridors.

Just DON'T do it would be best - try the Clarion in Eureka itself if you must stay with Choice Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear SAinCA,

I am sorry to hear you stay wasn't as enjoyable as you expected. We do have an RV parts store next door that has an RV dump station but they have assured us that it is so far below ground that the smell is not from that. Unfortunately, directly behind us we have the bay and across the bay is a pulp mill. On sunny days and low tide the entire town has a rotten fishy smell due to the surrounding bay and the pulp mill creates a sulfur smell throughout the entire town as well. Some days are worse than others. Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience but it is out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
576 reviews
3.0 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Eureka CA
Days Inn Eureka CA
#11 of 21 in Eureka
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Address: 4260 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503 (Formerly Comfort Inn Eureka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay Hotel near Humboldt State University, a Eureka CA HotelThe 100 percent smoke free Comfort Inn® Humboldt Bay is ideally located just minutes from the Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt State University and College of the Redwoods. Humboldt Bay offers a beautiful locale for boating and bird watching. Woodley Island Marina is the largest marina on the bay, and offers boat rentals and lessons. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of one of the most striking ecological niches in the United States.This Eureka, CA hotel is near the Redwood National and State Parks. Our region attracts nature-lovers from around the world and is home to the world's tallest trees, the must-see giant old-growth redwoods that can live to be 2,000 years old and reach 300 feet in height. To the south of the hotel is the famous Avenue of the Giants and the beautiful 'lost' California coastline.Located on the southern edge of Eureka, our hotel is conveniently located close to great shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Victorian period architecture of the Old Town Eureka historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing