We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Prior to writing this review, I tried contacting Comfort Inn customer service. It has been 3 days and still no reply. I now understand why the lack of good customer service is allowed at this hotel. I want to start by saying I had stayed in 2 other Comfort Inns during this same trip. 1 in Half Moon Bay and the other near San Jose. Both were excellent hotels. I thought this hotel would be the same. I checked in around 11pm on Thursday. Long day on the road and this was one of the 1st hotels i saw as I came into town. This was my experience...... First off, I believe i was over charged. Right off I noticed the rate was higher than the 2 hotels i had stayed at in Northern Cali that same week. So when i tucked into my room that night, I checked the rate of this hotel on my laptop for the next night in the same room and found it to be $25 less. Second, the hotel check in clerk did not notify me that my room would not have a bath. His words, "Pool and Hot tub closed at 10pm". I had just traveled 12 hours and was looking forward to relaxing in the bath before bed. I had a wheelchair accessible "roll in" shower with INCREDIBLY low water pressure. I had already gotten undressed and ready for my bath before I walked into the bathroom. The previous 2 Comfort Inns had nice bathrooms with great water pressure. I had assumed this 3rd stay would be the same. 3rd complaint. Upon check out, I walked up to the counter and was ignored by the 2 clerks behind the counter. They were talking and looking at the computer. No acknowledgement that I was at the counter. Nothing. I waited a few minutes for them to finish or pause to take care of me.That did not seem to happen. I butted in, I told them my room number, to charge my card and I left. I will not return. I have never received this kind of service at any hotel in the past. I normally stay with Best Western but liked the summer promotions and thought I would try this chain. If this is the type of service I can expect I will surely book with Best Western when i travel in October.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikki-98405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    68
    44
    12
    19
See reviews for
69
76
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I enjoyed staying here for a few nights while visiting ferndale and trinidad. It felt clean. Everything worked well. Nice hot shower, cozy bed and pillows. Flat screen tv...free internet...good breakfast with lots to choose from. No real complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxsulosxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmciec, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear xxxsulosxxx,

I am glad to hear your stay was nice! I hope we see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The spa did not work. The doors to the outside did not work. Homeless man digging in dumpster. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Pool small but warm. Would not go back. Only Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed 3 nights while visiting the redwood forests of northern Cal. It's a good location for that activity. Humboldt/Avenue of the Giants are about 25 miles to the south. To the north there are redwood forests to visit everywhere from approximately 20 to 90 miles. The room had a nice flat screen tv, microwave and refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The room was clean and generally pleasant. The breakfast is basic but was sufficient. Near the hotel the city of Eureka has plenty of restaurants, a nice shopping mall and grocery store. My only complaint was the Wi-Fi. The wireless internet was very inconsistent in my room and most times did not work at all. Luckily I brought a cable with me. I plugged into the wall outlet and had a fast internet connection. Overall I was happy with the Eureka Comfort Inn and would stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. To make things even better they serve up a free breakfast with everything from cereal to biscuits and gravey with sausage! The only negative was the view out our window as it looked at a pretty rough apartment or hotel but we just kept the curtains closed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducklips40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Granted this was a last-minute reservation on a holiday weekend, but this accommodation at $140 was overpriced. Should have been around $100. (I travel extensively and have been involved in the tourism industry.) Accommodations were clean and quiet, a plus. But I chose the hotel in part because they said that there were refrigerators and microwaves in the room but,after lugging my stuff to a second-floor room, found neither. So ultimately I was forced to take everything back downstairs to what turned out to be a room for a disabled person, which was quite roomy. I did not take advantage of the breakfast but I did look at it -- pretty basic but looked ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMeierWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The place reaked. The place is out of date. There is no elevator and parking is bad. Beds are also hard as a rock. It's priced high for the value. But on the plus side they have big TVs and the service was good. Also a bit of a ways from decent food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
567 reviews
3.0 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 21 in Eureka
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Address: 4260 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503 (Formerly Comfort Inn Eureka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay Hotel near Humboldt State University, a Eureka CA HotelThe 100 percent smoke free Comfort Inn® Humboldt Bay is ideally located just minutes from the Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt State University and College of the Redwoods. Humboldt Bay offers a beautiful locale for boating and bird watching. Woodley Island Marina is the largest marina on the bay, and offers boat rentals and lessons. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of one of the most striking ecological niches in the United States.This Eureka, CA hotel is near the Redwood National and State Parks. Our region attracts nature-lovers from around the world and is home to the world's tallest trees, the must-see giant old-growth redwoods that can live to be 2,000 years old and reach 300 feet in height. To the south of the hotel is the famous Avenue of the Giants and the beautiful 'lost' California coastline.Located on the southern edge of Eureka, our hotel is conveniently located close to great shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Victorian period architecture of the Old Town Eureka historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing