We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The spa did not work. The doors to the outside did not work. Homeless man digging in dumpster. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Pool small but warm. Would not go back. Only Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed 3 nights while visiting the redwood forests of northern Cal. It's a good location for that activity. Humboldt/Avenue of the Giants are about 25 miles to the south. To the north there are redwood forests to visit everywhere from approximately 20 to 90 miles. The room had a nice flat screen tv, microwave and refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The room was clean and generally pleasant. The breakfast is basic but was sufficient. Near the hotel the city of Eureka has plenty of restaurants, a nice shopping mall and grocery store. My only complaint was the Wi-Fi. The wireless internet was very inconsistent in my room and most times did not work at all. Luckily I brought a cable with me. I plugged into the wall outlet and had a fast internet connection. Overall I was happy with the Eureka Comfort Inn and would stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank WisconsinTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. To make things even better they serve up a free breakfast with everything from cereal to biscuits and gravey with sausage! The only negative was the view out our window as it looked at a pretty rough apartment or hotel but we just kept the curtains closed!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducklips40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Granted this was a last-minute reservation on a holiday weekend, but this accommodation at $140 was overpriced. Should have been around $100. (I travel extensively and have been involved in the tourism industry.) Accommodations were clean and quiet, a plus. But I chose the hotel in part because they said that there were refrigerators and microwaves in the room but,after lugging my stuff to a second-floor room, found neither. So ultimately I was forced to take everything back downstairs to what turned out to be a room for a disabled person, which was quite roomy. I did not take advantage of the breakfast but I did look at it -- pretty basic but looked ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieMeierWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The place reaked. The place is out of date. There is no elevator and parking is bad. Beds are also hard as a rock. It's priced high for the value. But on the plus side they have big TVs and the service was good. Also a bit of a ways from decent food.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Total bill was $123 for one night, two adults. For that price, I wish we would have gone down the road to the Best Western. The room was the standard inexpensive chain motel type. No luxury. No elevator either, so we had to lug our suitcase, etc. up the stairs. Another bad design is that the rooms don't connect directly to the lobby. You have to go outside to go to the breakfast. Our room door didn't shut properly, and it fact, we were able to just push it open when we arrived. That was very weird and a bit scary. The TV reception was very bad and the desk clerk blamed it on the weather. The breakfast was just o.k., not as nice as other motels. From now on, we'll stay away from Comfort Inns.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you have trouble handling stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AreWeHavingFunYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at this property during a road trip up the "Left" coast. The property was a typical Comfort Inn, but had a couple short comings.

The room was very spacious, and clean; though we do not like rooms with the vanity/sink outside the bathroom. This arrangement is not unusual in Choice Hotel properties, but is inconvenient if one person rises much earlier than the other.

This particular hotel does not have an elevator, so be sure to advise in advance if you have difficulty climbing stairs with luggage. Having said that, the front staff did offer to assist us with our luggage, but you still need to get yourself up the stairs.

The breakfast bar was wanting. definitely no where near the quality of Holiday Inn Express, or Hampton Inn. If you're into fresh hot waffles for breakfast Comfort Inns are the place to go, Holiday Inn Express provides fresh baked pancakes.

In the end, We stayed at this property because of the current (summer 2012) promo that rebates $50 for each two stays at Choice Hotel properties. Without the promo, I think I would probably pick the Best Western in Eureka. But hey, 50 bucks is 50 bucks.

Next stop, Comfort Inn at Newport, OR; and it gets worse.

R

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapidrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
3 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#12 of 21 in Eureka
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay

Address: 4260 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503-5738 (Formerly Comfort Inn Eureka)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range: $82 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay Hotel near Humboldt State University, a Eureka CA HotelThe 100 percent smoke free Comfort Inn® Humboldt Bay is ideally located just minutes from the Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt State University and College of the Redwoods. Humboldt Bay offers a beautiful locale for boating and bird watching. Woodley Island Marina is the largest marina on the bay, and offers boat rentals and lessons. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of one of the most striking ecological niches in the United States.This Eureka, CA hotel is near the Redwood National and State Parks. Our region attracts nature-lovers from around the world and is home to the world's tallest trees, the must-see giant old-growth redwoods that can live to be 2,000 years old and reach 300 feet in height. To the south of the hotel is the famous Avenue of the Giants and the beautiful 'lost' California coastline.Located on the southern edge of Eureka, our hotel is conveniently located close to great shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Victorian period architecture of the Old Town Eureka historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Eureka Hotel Eureka
Eureka Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing