We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to historic downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Close to historic downtown.”
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We were looking for somewhere different to spend Thanksgiving week while our daughter was off school...this is something we've done for the past few years. We chose this BW mostly for the location. You can walk to the historic downtown and we did just that...we spent a couple of days wandering through the quaint shops and restaurants (and there are a lot of restaurants in Eureka!). We also appreciated the fact that there was a Starbucks just up the road but there are a couple of excellent family owned coffee shops in the old town district too.

Our room was clean and the beds comfortable however, the walls were quite thin and we could hear what our neighbors were doing and saying which was a little disturbing at times. Staying on the second floor might have helped to reduce the 'noise'. The complimentary breakfast was really not worth bothering with except to pick up some yogurt and fruit. The coffee was pretty awful although my daughter enjoyed the tea and hot chocolate. The dining room attendant was also a different sort of character...she kept trying to 'talk-up' the male guests which made me and few other guests a little uncomfortable. She probably thought she was being friendly (or something) but she was really just being obnoxious. I let the front desk person know before we checked out to which I got some eye rolling and the comment: "I'll talk to her again...". I guess I wasn't the only person who said something.

Eureka is a very different little town. Not your typical coastal town. More like a lumber town...lumber mills everywhere...but it is historic and visiting some of the small towns around Eureka was fun (like Ferndale with it's Victorian homes). Of course, you can't beat the redwoods either for great scenery.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    275
    119
    58
    17
See reviews for
323
378
39
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I don't know where to start! Very clean and comfortable rooms. Awsome pool patio area with pool table and relaxing seating area. The best fitness center I have ever seen at a hotel! I can't believe it they even have a free Limousine service to dinner! The breakfast was great, alot of choices no need to go out for breakfast. Great location within walking distance to all the best restaurants and their cute downtown area. We stayed in their upgraded room with dvd player and they had alot of good movies to choose from. Their staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding area with quick check-in. In the morning I was able to use their business center to access informaition for things to do further on in our trip. Hands down the best Best Western I have ever stayed at and I will be recommending to any and everybody I know that travels to that area to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilkietotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

In fairness, the hotel was fully booked the night we stayed but it was nearly impossible to get a decent night's sleep due to noise from nearby roads, parking lot, or suitcases rolling by. For the $150 price, the rooms are quite small as are the bathrooms. Breakfast was fairly standard for mid-range chains, with insufficient seating area for guests. Pool area is great for kids. Hotel location is between 2 busy roadways and not really walking distance to the heart of old Eureka. If there's a next time, I would go for a B&B or small inn closer to the old part of town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The front desk employees were friendly and helpful, our room was clean, and the hotel is in walking-distance to bars and restaurants. We also really appreciated the free buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We arrived at this hotel after dark, had we seen it in the daylight we would have found somewhere else to stay. The room was gloomy and in desperate need of re-decoration, it had two queen beds and we weren't 100% sure that the sheets were clean on one of the beds, maybe they just needed ironing - who knows? The wallpaper was peeling off the walls in the bathroom and the furniture looked well used. Breakfast was free but there was not enough tables for guests to use whilst breakfasting. We opted to go to the diner next door instead. This hotel put us off staying at Best Westerns for the remainder of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We arrived in town late, with no reservations (not smart I know!) I had forgotten what a rough town Eureka is and my husband vetoed most of the hotels we passed that had vacancies. Others I looked up with my TripAdvisor via my iPhone, and saw awful reviews and many places were listed as unsafe. So when we passed by this place, it had good reviews and a reservation, we were thrilled! The front desk person was from my hometown, which made my husband happy. We didn't notice any noise, but we stayed in the back part of the hotel which had a separate little parking area. We needed a rollaway bed and the guy brought it right away, before we had even put our stuff down in the room. I was very glad to have stayed in a safe, quiet place in this town. I also used the free wi-fi which worked well too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbunny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

this was a very nice clean hotel for Eureka which doesn't look like it has much going for it,
Very clean, excellent bed, excellent bed, good breakfast, nice pool and clean and kept up.
they have free limousine service to take you to old town or to eat. would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unklray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#8 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Address: 232 W 5th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room. NEW Oasis Spa Area & fireplace lounging. Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising...treadmill, eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing