We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent for down town Eureka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent for down town Eureka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

this was a very nice clean hotel for Eureka which doesn't look like it has much going for it,
Very clean, excellent bed, excellent bed, good breakfast, nice pool and clean and kept up.
they have free limousine service to take you to old town or to eat. would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unklray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    271
    119
    58
    17
See reviews for
320
370
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We paid about $150 with tax during peak season, and I imagine that's average. The room itself was nothing special. The bed was typical for a hotel - no better, no worse. It looked like they had tried to do some superficial updating on inexpensive things like faux granite counter tops to make the room appear nicer, but I would have appreciated some actual updates such as a shower that worked (the stopper was broken so the tub kept filling) and had decent water pressure. The road noise was really bad, above and beyond what you usually have to deal with in a hotel. I noticed a lot of little strip motels for around $60 as we went through town and next time I'll book one of those.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel is actually one of the better ones in this price range and in this area. Contrary to other reviews, I didn't find the "foad noise" bothersome (and I am easily awakened) - but I think if my room would have been right next to the road, it would have been a problem. .... They have a great pool area and pool table (even in extremely cold spring weather, the pool was stil very warm - and the hot tub was very hot) - breakfasts were just as good as "going out" w/o the added expense. ... My one negative is that somehow the front desk did not give me the wake up call I had requested for our departing morning. ... Oh - and we had a toilet that would periodically refill at various times throughout the night - even after it was "fixed" - but it was more of an issue of waste than anything else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casadedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Hands down the best of the BEST WESTERN chain if only all the motels would follow the lead of this establishment, excellent breakfast, indoor/outdoor heated pool, friendly staff.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ToniAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

We chose this inn because of the great reviews and found it even nicer than expected. Even in winter, it has a welcoming, tropical feel to it. Beautiful aquarium by the front desk. Check-in was friendly and professional, our room was comfortable, had all the amenities and pleasing decor. We asked for a quiet room and enjoyed a quiet, restful (Saturday) night. The breakfast was good, served in a room off the indoor pool and spa, again, a pleasant tropical ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

In pouring rain we pulled into the Best Western Humboldt Bay and found our room to be cozy with updated upholstery and flat screen TV. Also had a microwave and refrig. and several convenient outlets for charging devices. The bathroom had granite countertops and a heated tile floor. They had a nice pool area and the breakfast buffet opened early at 6 am.
This hotel was a step above other Best Westerns and if we travel through Eureka again this will be our hotel choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLC277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I have driven past this inn several times but only now had occasion to stay. At check-in they were fully booked and the only room left was the Honeymoon Suite, the bathroom was the size of most normal rooms as for the common areas it has a great pool and heated patio area and really friendly front desk staff! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertholf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#9 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Address: 232 W 5th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room. NEW Oasis Spa Area & fireplace lounging. Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising...treadmill, eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing