We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Redway, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for my birthday weekend, it was so clean and the people were so nice. It was perfect having the limo to be able to drive us and pick us up there in eureka. Over all it was perfect def would stay here again and suggest it for people to stay at!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyhey924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    296
    128
    60
    17
See reviews for
356
398
41
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We wanted to spend the night in Eureka, but didn't know where to stay. We picked this Best Western and were completely surprised at how nice it was! It is in a great location and a mile from Downtown Eureka with all the cute restaurants and shops. It has a motel feel to it on the outside, so I was not expecting much. When we opened the door to our room I was shocked. The room was very nice and clean and the bathroom was very nice too. There was a stall shower which was a nice change and it was beautifully done with tile and the bathroom had a nice marble/granite top. There was also a nice shampoo and conditioner. There was a frig and microwave, always a plus. The lobby was very nice, and they had salt water taffy's at the desk (yum!) and a big fish tank/aquarium. Even though we didn't use the pool or eat there, we looked at both areas, and again, it was beautiful. The pool looked exceptionally nice. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again. We had breakfast at the Omlete Chalet about a mile away which was GREAT. I've stayed at several Best Western's and the one in NYC was by far the best, and this one was a runner up. Most of the others haven't even been close. This one may have restored my faith in the Best Western chanin. VERY NICE!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cin4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBWPHBI, General Manager at Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay here! You have definitely traveled the country as one can see by how many reviews you have written. We are happy to be at the top of your list for accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The website described this place as something of an oasis...it is a far cry from any oasis. When we drove in the parking lot, we already had a bad vibe. The lady at the desk was friendly when telling us about the room and the amenities they had to offer. We hesitantly secured a room, took our luggage up to the second floor just in time to find the cleaning crew of two finishing the room. We were famished so put the luggage in and went to find a bite to eat. When we returned to the room, we were blasted by a horrible smell when we opened the door. We hadn't noticed it before because the maids had the door open when we arrived. Then when we went to use the bathroom, we found the toilet seat dirty and live ants roaming around the entrance to the shower. The caulking around the shower base was put over the top of moldy caulking...looked very dingy and disgusting. When trying to wash our hands at the bathroom sink, the sink filled with water and would not drain. That was enough to send us back to the office to checkout. The staff offered another room, but we were just to grossed out to even try. We noticed the whole time that we are experiencing this, there was a plumbing truck in the parking lot. He left just prior to us putting all our luggage back in the car. We did not have the chance to check out the pool or spa. They offer a stretch limo to take you to and from dinner.....the limo does not make up for the poorly appointed room. I would skip this place all together.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoadtripRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

located in downtown and near the old town district, I found it centrally located to everything I needed. Restaurants were near by, but me and my coworkers chose to take their limo that Ive heard so much about. It was great, didnt have to worry about parking and we were able to have a few glasses of wine without the worries of driving. I stayed for three nights so I did have some work to do. The desk was large so I could spread all my sales stuff out. Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was perfect for what I wanted...egg sandwich, oatmeal, and waffles. Will stay again in three months when I come back!

Room Tip: in between two busy streets, ask for a room in center of property if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very nicely remodeled hotel in the center of town. Clean inside and outside. We really enjoyed the heated pool, hot tub and entertainment area with the tables, chairs and heaters. It is like an atrium area and we used it for order in NY style pizza on the patio night! They have a free limo to take guest around town if you want to venture out for dinner or drinks. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and well appointed. The WIFI worked very well! The beds were comfy and we slept very well. . Our room was clean and comfortable, A/C and Heat worked as expected. Breakfast was good food and service! We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

i found the inn to be very clean,all the appliances worked great,the heater worked perfect,the bed was very comfy.Breakfast was delicious and plenty.the pool was nice sized,but the hot tub was too small and not that deep.the Restrauant next door was a nice bonus.it is at the end of the street so if you miss it and go around the block you have anther chance.the limo service was a pleasant bonus

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank M.s. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

As a light sleeper this hotel provided me the same quiet solitude that any 5 star hotel would have. All of the amenities were more than adequate, but having peace and quiet in a Hampton Inn was really exceptional. The continental breakfast was the only thing that was not exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 990alberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.3 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#7 of 21 in Eureka
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Address: 232 W 5th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room. NEW Oasis Spa Area & fireplace lounging. Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising...treadmill, eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing