We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

After staying at the BW plus in Lincoln City, we Had high expectations about this hotel. It is located in a busy area of Eureka; very near dining areas, some you could actually walk to...somehow as we drive by the streets though, I did not feel comfortable walking.
The room at this hotel was not at par with the one in Lincoln City. The rooms here are just a regular best western and not a PLUS. The bathroom smelled like it was wiped with a dirty rag and the toilet did not flush that great either.
Although their patio and heated pool looked really great. The breakfast was so so, the breakfast sandwiches were preface and had to be microwaved, and the staff here were not as helpful as in Lincoln City. The lady at the desk was quite nice and friendly though when we checked out.
Maybe we just had high expectations after staying at the BW Plus in Lincoln City...but we think this hotel needs to renovate their rooms or at least clean them and maintain them properly.

Room Tip: I suggest check out the best Western plus Bayshore in Eureka
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBWPHBI, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Our property is located in downtown Eureka and is near many restaurants in the Historic District which is located five blocks from the Inn. For those that enjoy walking, we offer routes at the front desk. Our complimentary dinner stretch limousine can take and pick up guests to any Eureka restaurants at no charge.
All of our rooms have new 42inch LCD tvs, micro/refers, plush bedding, etc. This room was just deep cleaned the day the guest checked in. Tilex was used in the bathroom, thus the strong odor (we should have aired it out better).
Our heated indoor/outdoor pool & spa and our adjacent atrium patio area is perfect for families or just relaxing. Billiards table and in-pool basketball hoop are fun for all.
Our deluxe breakfast offers hot waffles (waffle makers), fresh pastries, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each day), jimmy dean egg/sausage sandwiches, cold cereals, hot oatmeal, fresh whole fruit, yoplait yogurt, fresh gourmet coffee (grounded here from coffee beans), and much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    296
    128
    60
    17
See reviews for
356
399
41
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pioneer, California
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The service was very good. I especially enjoyed taking advantage of their limo which is available in the evening to take guests to any of the restaurants in town. There is also a nice atrium adjacent to the pool where you can have breakfast. Convenient parking to the room. Good place to stay for business or with family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We requested a quiet room. Arrived half an hour after check-in and were told room wouldn't be ready for 1-1/2 hrs, but we could have another room right away. We accepted. The substitute room was in a corner right next to the laundry, with chatting maids and rolling linen carts passing just outside our window. A request to change the room (after dinner) was reluctantly agreed to. Access from parking to 101 is thrilling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NUmpquaDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBWPHBI, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Our property does have 108 rooms. Unfortunately, we were full the previous night and not all rooms are ready by 2pm check-in. We offered the guest another room that was finished, which was near our housekeeping department (Housekeeping does leave at 4:30pm so the room is a nice quiet room). The guest wanted to move again, which we did, as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our overall stay was fine: friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room. But it was uncomfortable in that our room was very warm, no matter what we tried to do. We even asked a maid for help and she did follow through, but it was still warm. Finally, I just opened the bathroom window for more ventilation! No tub, only a shower stall. Breakfast area ( a room in one of the buildings) was small with only 3-4 tables. Didn't know that we could pick up breakfast there and bring it to our room to eat. Room was on dim side in terms of lighting, as we are an elderly couple.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

On my trip through California and Reno we stayed in Eureka for a friend's birthday. I picked out Best western and of course, I don't regret it at all. The room was very clean and all of the employees were so friendly. It's a good town as well, so leaving our vehicle wasn't worrying in the slightest for us. It was the cheapest hotel we stayed at the entire trip and also my favorite.

They have an average breakfast, but it's certainly still pretty delicious and it's nice to not have to go wandering to look for a restaurant. The employees working to cater the breakfast we nice, chatty and helpful. I felt very welcome and secure there for a good price. You get your basics, and it's nice to have a pool and a hot tub outside. I'd recommend it for anyone, especially families because it's very kid friendly, but still without noise from your neighbors!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

as luck would have it we chose this place. The staff was very helpful. The pool was in short awesome!!! Everything was modern comfortable and clean. We especially loved the limousine ride to dinner... I bribed the kids to be good and they could ride the limo... worked like a charm. Our room had 2 queen beds and was very nice. Don't know what else to say but would def. come back again and again.
p.s. the breakfast was very nice... the fitness center was not used but was the finest i've seen on my trip.

Room Tip: the rooms on the edge may be a little noisy but we were in a little and had NO problem. get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for over 14 years.
The folks are always friendly and know your name.
They are always fixing up the property.
This property provides us with a spa, pools, workout room and even a limo to go to dinner.
(Please tip the folks with the limo.)
In traveling there are places that stick out!
This is the one in Eureka!
Clean ,comfortable rooms with a staff that knows you !
One you have been here ,you are not a stranger.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobbins60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
0.3 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#7 of 21 in Eureka
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Address: 232 W 5th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room. NEW Oasis Spa Area & fireplace lounging. Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising...treadmill, eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing