We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Eureka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stay in Eureka”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Comfortable, spacious, clean, swimming pool, gym, continental breakfast, complimentary limousine into centre of town - this was pretty good by all standards and a nice surprise compared to many Best Westerns. Bit of a motel feel to it, in terms of the layout of the accommodation, but no complaints there, probably just the style in the US. Eureka itself was a funny night out... got pretty drunk in Steve and Dave's bar... kept calling it Steve Davis's bar, but none of the locals seemed to know about 80s snooker players from the UK... ;-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    275
    119
    58
    17
See reviews for
323
378
39
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

after driving around eureka, we finally decided on this hotel. We are very happy that we did. Loved the room and all the amenities from the large lcd tv to the upgraded shampoo and conditioner. Even though it is located between two busy streets, it takes up a large area. we asked fo a room near the center and didn't hear any road noise for the 2 nights we stayed. it is located within walking distance (5 blocks) to their historic old town and marina/boardwalk. Great antique shops and eateries. the limo service was great and all staff that we encountered were friendly. we will be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room near the center of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross River, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Travelers should be aware of the fact that Eureka, CA has 2 or 3 Best Western locations. Although the staff is very friendly here, the accomodations are very average. This is a motel and not an Inn. It is located on a very busy part of Highway 101 in a neighborhood that is very sketchy. It is clean, but not an ideal place for families with kids. The cost of a room was a ridiculous $150.00 plus per night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisBWPHBI, General Manager at Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka and takes up an entire city block. We have one of the largest and nicest pool areas on the Northcoast with an indoor/outdoor heated pool & spa. Also, in our indoor patio area, guests can relax in our plush furniture and landscaping. Families especially enjoy the billiards table and the basketball hoop in our swimming pool. There is a fitness facility on premise for those that wish to exercise while here.
Families also love our complimentary dinner limosouine Monday thru Saturday. We constantly see children/families getting their pictrue taken next to the limo, with many commenting that it was their first time in a limosouine.
Our rates are seasonal with summer being the peak season and are comparable to the rates of other nicer motels/inns in our area for summertime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

my family stayed here last weekend and loved it. My 2 kids loved the pool area (best on on our trip) and my husband could work in their fitness center as he watched us swim in the pool. really relaxing. They also had free limo service that my girls loved...it was our first time in a limo.. we went to dinner at a really good seafood restauarant that the hotel recommended and then to dessert nearby. The guest rooms were perfect. new 42inch tvs were great...havent seen that yet in any hotels. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattyannr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Hi...my husband and I were traveling to San Francisco and stayed a couple of nights at the Humboldt Bay Inn...we are extremely happy with the hotel...very excited to see the new 42 inch LCD tv's...We especially like the Limo service they provide! We use it everytime we stay...the staff is very friendly and knows us by name! We will continue to stay with them everytime we come through Eureka!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

has alot of road noise and there was a very noisy party going on at 1:30AM at the pool area

Room Tip: bring ear plugs if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Got in about 9pm after a long day. Had to wait to check in, no place to park so was told to park in handicap spot, no restaurant near by and shuttle was no longer running. Not a great experience. Room was clean and nicely appointed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank aflemi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#8 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Address: 232 W 5th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room. NEW Oasis Spa Area & fireplace lounging. Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising...treadmill, eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing