We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden View Suite”
Review of The Daly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Daly Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Eureka B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Garden View Suite”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Daly Inn is easy to find and has private parking and a large fenced in yard behind the Inn. I stayed at the Inn two nights (second night is in a separate review) can say nothing but great comments about the Inn, Owners, and the Garden View Suite room. The bed was comfortable and the boudoir had lots of big fluffy pillows and an extra blanket for the bed. The separate sitting room was perfect for reading and relaxing; the small table is available for eating, working, or writing. The shower, tub, sink, and amenities were a nice touch - the only thing that could have made the bathroom better was if it had a claw-footed tub.
I recommend this room if you're looking for a quiet, comfortable escape from the outside world and would definitely stay in this room if I return to Eureka.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereTotoReallyWent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spent the night here on my way up to Washington. The house is a beautiful Victorian mansion and the innkeepers were very friendly. Plus, it was walkable to downtown/old town which I appreciated after spending all day in the car. Breakfast was good, too!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed one night in this very fine old house. Some amazing detail, well-preserved. Shared bathroom down the hall, but use of living room, TV room and billiard room. Small garden. Some traffic noise at night.
Eureka is an interesting town, with many old Victorian homes. There is an attempt being made to revitalize the old town. This B & B is not in the old town, but it is a short drive away.
A much better choice than staying in one of the motels on the main road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This house is a spectacular example of keeping the integrity of an old home. The Inn was in the perfect area for us to go either north or south for hiking, biking and sight-seeing. Breakfast was very delicious and very filling. Our gentleman host gave us some good advice on what to see in the northern area of the redwoods. We had a very good experience for our vacation here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatelover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were wowed when we drove up to the Inn. However, that wow quickly turned into a feeling of intruding on the inn keepers space. Of course, the husband showed us around and gave us the lay out but without any "welcome" ways. It was very mechanical and unfriendly. The accommodations were very nice, but we really felt like we were unwelcome. There is a set breakfast time. We came down about 10 minutes early and the dining room doors were CLOSED. I guess we were too early. At breakfast, the wife served. Being the friendly person that I am, I went over and introduced myself. She could barely give me a nod. That is the last we saw of her.
If you don't like people, than you shouldn't be in the B&B business. If you are having a bad day, put it away when you have paying guests in your home.
I would never recommend such an unfriendly place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gbwcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Such a beautiful and well cared for home. Such cold and unfriendly inn keepers. Such a disappointment. Everything was thought of from umbrellas in the entry hall, to an abundance of towels, but what was over-looked was the attitude of the home owners/inn keepers. It was chilly when we got the just-like-a-canned-tour of the downstairs. No time was allowed to entertain a question from me, an architectural lover, about the William Morris wall paper -- although we were the only lodgers present at the time. But the next morning at breakfast was the real disenchantment. At the otherwise elegant dining table, my husband and I -- plus five others diners including an impeccably mannered third grade girl -- were treated with such curtness, it was really quite shocking. In fact, the meal was, if not ruined by the attitude of our hosts, negatively impacted by the monosyllabic brusqueness of this couple who appeared only briefly to place food before the group of us. So, it is with great disappointment that I warn others to find another equally pretty but far-more-welcoming B&B in Eureka.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WingingHereToThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and although the weather was cool outside, we were very warmly looked after. We stayed in Annie Murphys Room which is a very light and cheerful room. The bathroom is enormous and is just along the corridor. We would recommend this to anyone coming to Eureka.Breakfasts were plentiful and very good. Our host was only too pleased to give us useful advice (including where to see close by a whole herd of elk). Thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q6495UIdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#8 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daly Inn

Property: The Daly Inn
Address: 1125 H St, Eureka, CA 95501-1844
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Daly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Daly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing